Training Updates: My First 10 Mile Run!

Totally True!

Well, it’s about that time again…yup – final exams are this week! Right on schedule – Nola woke up with a runny nose, cough and slight fever. This is totally typical and I have grown to expect catastrophe the week of final exams. It never fails – once every 10 weeks my child gets very ill and I am back to being a sleep deprived, emotionally needy, panic-stricken mess trying to prepare for exams and take care of her and hope that Shane’s flight in from Thailand is not delayed!

Never fear – I have planned for this – I only scheduled my exams for 2pm – that way no matter what happens throughout the night I still have a change to study in the morning OR nap! Last time I scheduled all my exams for 9am thinking I just wanted to get them over with the day of the exam – but this didn’t leave me much wiggle room for being tired or getting anything else done but taking Nola somewhere so I could take my exam.

BUT… on the bright side – I have been able to celebrate great milestones this week! I successfully completed my first double-digit run Saturday morning. My awesome neighbor Alicia accompanied me. She is training for the Izena Triathlon in October so I guess we really helped each other! (She also ran my very first 10K with me a few months ago along with our neighbor Kelly!)

My Nike Stats

We dropped Nola off at Jeanne’s house (her daughter babysat) at 5:30am and headed out from there for our run. No exciting route – just ran from Plaza Housing to Kadena Gate 2 and to the shoppette on base. We took in some Hammer Gels and used the little girls room before heading back. This gave us a moment to relax and drink some water.

I actually really like running on the Air Force Base b/c there are tons of options for routes to take and there are tons of options for bathrooms if needed! I still get nervous about having to poop in the middle of a long run! Lol! Hey – running keeps you regular, that’s for sure!

Our GPS Route

I am still amazed at how the time just flew by for us on this run. We both chatted the whole time and agreed it was a very smooth run. Having someone to run with just makes a world of difference. Now, I admit, I like to run alone most of the time but not for my LSR days.

There is a women I met through the on island WOOT group who wants to train together (she is doing the Naha Marathon) but we haven’t panned anything out yet. But the prospect of having a running partner for the duration of my training is very appealing!

This MILESTONE also means I am past a certain point in my training! Only double digit LSR from here on out! Eeeeek!

Here is my email to Jeanne to let her know the run stats:

Today – First 10 miler! Success! It went by so fast. Alicia is such a strong runner and very chatty like me. We ran and talked the entire way.
Here are my miles:

Mile 1: 10:28
Mile 2: 10:04
Mile 3: 10:26
Mile 4: 8:57 (long downhill on Kadena)
Mile 5: 9:10
Mile 6: 10:09
Mile 7: 10:23
Mile 8: 10:34
Mile 9: 9:01
Mile 10: 9:35

My quads are definitely sore and I have been icing and resting. We stopped at the shoppette to take in our gels and water, use the restroom and then headed out again. I am really happy with how well I was able to do that distance and not feel like I was going to die!

Nutritional Tidbits:

I found Salmon Burgers at the Commissary today! Wahoo! I haven’t tried them yet but I am very excited to see an alternative option to Turkey Burgers! You’d have to live here to understand WHY this is so exciting and note worthy! It is rare that you get new items into the Commissary – let alone a healthy one! Mostly you see things no longer being supplied due to a lack of demand more than anything else.

I hope these are YUMMY!

New Stuff! 

I ordered my very first pair of Injinji Socks today! I am very excited about these. Shane had been reading some article in Runner’s World about how long distance runners prefer there b/c even after their feet got soaked with sweat their toes never got all blistery from rubbing together b/c their feet were (essentially) wearing gloves! So, I’ll put them to the test and let ya’ll know! Plus, maybe these will make my Vibrams feel better on my feet. I’ll report back on this too.

Toe Socks Toe-tally Rock!

Miles ran this week: 26

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 00:58:45

    Wow ..,. I’m checkin’ out the last two miles of your LSR. You’re going faster than when you started! Congratulations on a well done 10 miler! Hello double digits! 🙂

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      Aug 15, 2011 @ 08:10:39

      Oh boy – I was just trying to keep up w/ Alicia! If I would have run that distance on my own I am not sure I would have still been picking up speed! lol! We ended up back on Plaza and still needing 6/10ths of distance to go. So we ran UP the hill passing Jeanne’s house and then turned back. The exact moment that my watch said 10.00miles I stopped!

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

