Finding My Pace

More times than not I find myself comparing and contrasting myself to other females/mothers/athletes, etc. I know that this is not an affliction I am alone with – we all do it! However, it has brought me back to the general appreciation for just how different we all are.

I make time for school and for fitness to be part of my daily routine and overall path to a better life – or I guess a healthier more knowledge filled one would be a better way to say it. I look around me at some of my neighbors and envy their flare for crafts and creative spin on living here in Okinawa. They make time to decorate these cement bunkers (aka housing units) into a real “homey” space. I think to myself, “Wow, I wish I had time for crafts.” The truth of the matter is…if it were important to me – I would MAKE the time for it. I would make the time to paint my walls soothing colors, to decorate the house and cultivate my flowerbeds into a botanical bliss instead of morn their emptiness. Clearly – it just isn’t that important to me or I would make the time.

It also works in reverse. Sometimes I talk with other women about my routine for fitting in school and running/training and they make comments similar to mine – “Wow, how do you find the time for all of that – I wish I had the time for working out.” And I have come to realize that if it were truly important for those people – they would make the time, they would make the choice and get active. I don’t live in a world where everything is black and white and I do completely understand that sometimes “something” has to give. Everyone makes their choices for what their “something” will be. For me – I don’t take the time to be all crafty and “Betty Homemaker”-ish but instead I get up at 4am to make time for fitness. Instead of spending time in the flowerbeds I spend time planning menu’s for the coming weeks paleo meals and snacks and then sift through the mess of coupons from the commissary. Instead of clocking in at a job I clock-in at my “study room” no later than 9am and get my brain swell on until 3:30pm when it is time to leave for picking up Nola!

Anyhow – what I am trying to say is that in life – we all have to set the pace for what we make time for and what is important for us. No peaking over at someone else’s task list or life “to-do’s” – worry about yourself, your family and your household and know that in the end the happiness that resides inside you and your home is the most important. Knowing that you have dedicated your time according to what drives you, what makes you most passionate is paramount in life! If there is something you really wish you were doing instead of what you do – make time for something new, even if it is only 30 min a day. Make the choice and the time will come!

Training TidBits:

This week is a Rest & Recovery week from the Group Fitness thrashing I do with Jeanne. Next week we will be back to our normal 3 days/week at 5am meet-up.

This passed weekend I had to run (Sat) 5 miles at a 9 min pace and (Sun) 4 miles at an 8:30min/mile pace. HOW DID IT GO?

Saturday: I drive over to Camp Foster and figured I would make this an easy run day and hit the treadmill and then do some Yoga. Well…I didn’t realize that the gym opens so late on weekends – so I ended up running around the base. I didn’t plan on running outside so I had NO iPod and NO GPS watch. I had to guess at my pace and at my distance. I did, however, have a stopwatch in my car (there is no clock in my car so I keep an old watch on the steering wheel).

I figured that if I maintained the 9min/mile pace that I needed I should only be running for 45min. So I started my watch and headed out. Since I am normally running at a (easy) 10min/mile pace I know what that effort feels like – so I knew I needed to be slightly faster than that. I made sure that if I felt like my running pace was too easy I needed to pick it up a little. After I made it to the end of the 45min I hoped in my car and drove the route I ran. BINGO! 4.97 miles in 45 min! WAHOO!

I was stoked about this! The whole point of this week (for me) is to learn pacing and what different paces “feel” like.

Totally satisfied and soak in sweat I headed in for the morning Yoga. 1 hr and 15 minutes later I was starving and headed home – to my surprise Shane had already made breakfast and saved me a plate of scrambled eggs w/ turkey sausage! YUM!

Sunday: Goal = maintain an 8:30min/mile pace for 4 miles. I talked Shane into running this w/ me. He pushed the stroller and helped maintain the up-tempo of the run. He is naturally so much faster than me and it makes him a great pacer! We headed out from the house and just went to the beach and back. The paved trail that runs along the beach here is flat and great for these sorts of runs.

Araha Beach Fitness Path

When we first started out I felt like I was just chasing after Shane the whole time – which makes me aggravated very quickly! I asked him what the pace was and he assured me we were spot on. It just FELT so FAST. I pumped my arms and just tried to stay focused and get my mind out of the “complaining” zone it was in.

Even though I felt like I was “racing” the whole time I was running – I was satisfied with the end result = being able to do it!

Here is my email to Jeanne:

Today Shane ran with me for the 4 miles at 8:30 pace. That was tough. I felt frustrated at how hard it was to maintain that pace until I got warmed up good. We jogged a slow 5 min. and then started our run. We stopped at the 2-mile mark and walked for about 3/10ths of a mile, and then stopped again at the 3-mile mark and walked a little. It was really tough to maintain that pace but it got easier as my body loosened up. I felt like I was racing the entire time. BUT I did it!! – even Shane was giving me props at how well I was maintaining that pace w. him.

 

And her response:

Hi Sarah!

Great job on maintaining the 9 min mile pace without your watch!  That is EXACTLY what I wanted you to do – to feel the pace and to be in synch with your body!!! You have now crossed another milestone! : )

Great job with the 8:30 – it was supposed to be challenging and it was supposed to take you out of your comfort zone!  Again, you did it!!! : )

Keep it up, Sarah – you are doing great!  I am so proud of you! Peace, Jeanne

As always – Jeanne is so supportive and motivating! I love having her here for me and with me on this journey!

Monday is my rest day.

Tuesday – 3 miles at an 8min/mile pace.

Since I didn’t have Shane to pace with and I was still feeling a bit sluggish – I decided to make today a treadmill day! Less impact on my joints PLUS I was nervous about being able to maintain this fast of a pace with my Nike+ watch being a terd for keeping an accurate instant pace.

Even on the treadmill this was super tough. I stopped at each mile and walked for about 3 minutes and then took off again. This was a 7.5 pace on the treadmill.

I noticed the same thing here though as with the 8:30 pace Shane and I did on the road. Each time I started again it felt slower and easier. The hard part is maintaining it for the whole distance. That will be my goal next time – no stopping!

Does anyone have any good tips about how to keep pushing through a fast pace?

Nutritional TibBits:

I have discovered some super yummy snacks for my cravings throughout the day and evening!

SNACKS:

Cucumber and Lemon:

So crisp and tart!

This is super easy and great for a salty fix! Just take one cucumber, peel and dice it however you like – place in a Tupperware container. Juice a whole lemon over the cucumber – cover and shake to coat w/ lemon juices. Place in fridge for about 15 min. Take out of the fridge and drain the juices (the acid in the lemon will make the cucumber soggy if you don’t). Serve chilled!

Plantain Chips!

Ingredients: Pantain, vegetable oil - that's it!

We found these at the commissary in the international food isle. These are very yummy and a great substitute for anything you would use a cracker or chips for. We ate these with guacamole. I ate these with my tuna. YUM! I looked up some info on them through google and found that plantains are considered the potato or pasta of the Caribbean and are used for a variety of things. So for all of you gluten free or Paleo people out there – I bet there are super creative ways to cook with these!

My new favorite snack!

Well, – I better get back to my studying! Until next time!

Miles Ran YTD: 170.65

Miles ran this week: 3

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 12:49:31

    I love this post and I know exactly what you mean about MAKING the time. So true! Your home is beautiful, Sarah! You have taken the time to decorate and make it inviting.
    This might sound …. strange … but our body’s are like a house. We need to take care of our health otherwise it starts to fall apart. I just finished reading a book, Designated Fat Girl – it’s quite an eye-opener to the world of obesity.
    Your running pace is incredible! You’re so good at what you do and you look amazing too! You have every right to be proud of what you’ve accomplished!

    Reply

  2. There She Goes
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 13:36:11

    Hi Angie! You’re too nice! The only reason my living/dining room is decorated is b/c I paid someone to do it! lol! I was tired of being embarrassed by my lack of decor – so I gathered up the stuff I liked and wanted to have around, picked out some curtains and told the decorator to do the rest! They even rearranged my furniture!
    I am totally digging what you are saying about our bodies being like our house! I totally agree. That is why I think it is so important to take such good care of yourself in order to be able to take such good care of your family!

    Glad we can stay in touch this way – motivating each other! I’ll have to look into that book!

    Reply

  3. D
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 21:25:36

    Okay so I have to admit your blog is now my homepage! That’s either flattering or creepy…lol. Your blog lets me see where I could be if I keep motivated-congrats on you latest milestones. Thanks for the book loan-almost finished and plan to scan a few pages-especially all the training advice and running lingo.

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      Jul 13, 2011 @ 06:12:07

      HAH! Not creepy at all! I’m so glad that I am motivating – by you telling me this – it is my motivation to keep going! I still have days when I wake up and think….”Man, December is a long ways off…can I keep this up?” But then I think about all the milestones in between and all the wonderful people I am meeting because of this adventure/journey! Can’t stop now!

      I’m so glad you like the book – I thought it would be a great resource for you like it was for me!

      Reply

  4. Daniel Haught
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 08:58:50

    Nice post. I think you’re right on about the lifestyle envy we sometimes get caught up in instead of focusing on making our lifestyle the one we want.
    Sounds like you’re making good progress in your training. Keep up the hard work, it will pay off.

    Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

