Group Training is No Joke Ladies!

Group Training – Week 3

I am continuously amazed at how strong and focused all of these women are that meet up at 5am 3 days a week to train with Jeanne.

Tuesday we did a continuos effort for 30 minutes. The drill was to do a 200 meter (not sure on the exact distance) farmers carry of heavy kettle bells and then 10 Burpees – over and over and OVER again! We were going for broke! I, personally, liked this exercise. At the beginning my upper arms and shoulders were burning but by the end it was my legs (quads) that were burning from the burps. My lungs were pumping and my legs were tired by the end – overall total body workout!

Wednesday morning we had our very first pool exercise. For me, this is my weak area, and I am not used to that. I fully admitted that I didn’t know how to really swim and Jeanne had me stay near the wall.

We did lots of walking lunges and pushups for our warm-up. Then into the pool we went! First we did some freestyle swimming and then we did more work on specific form and w. 100-meter intervals (we could stop every 25m if we needed) – then got out and did pushups and squats in between. Wow – this was hard! My calf muscle almost charley horsed twice and my lungs felt like they were the size of golf balls!

The first time that I got out of the pool to do pushups my body felt like it was just dead weight! So heavy! This was a full body workout. I can already feel it in my back just sitting her typing this up. Now I totally understand the full challenge that people face when competing in Triathlons – and I was in a pool not OPEN WATER!

I’ll admit – I don’t like having a weak area as far as my physical fitness goes – so I plan to spend more time in the pool and hopefully improve! I would like to give a triathlon a goal list slot sometime next year after the Marathon is checked off!

Everyday that we meet at Oh-Dark-hundred is such a challenge! I thought that Jeanne worked me hard in our personal training (and she does) but boy – she works everyone just as hard in her group exercise. We do sprint drills, all sorts of challenging functional fitness, and we laugh, we sweat and we have a good time getting fit!! There isn’t much talking during the actual workout (there are some motivational encouragement exchanges but that’s all). We chitchat before and after the workouts mostly. It is, however, written on all of our faces at the end of that one hour – beat faced and drenched in sweat – we are all worn out and proud of ourselves!

These women range from a spouse who works fulltime w/ no children to fulltime working, plus kids, plus summer session, plus sleep deprivation, plus husbands who deploy and who knows what else! The most important thing is that they are not forgetting about themselves in the hustle and bustle of life. They wake up everyday and take time for them. They take the time to make fitness a priority! One of the many things I have learned along this journey is that I am still important… even though I am a mommy to Nola, a personal chef, an home accountant, a wife to Shane, and a college student…. My physical wellness is paramount. I need to be at the top of my game so that I can be able to take care of my family. And I know I have said it before but I think it is worth stating again – I want Nola to grow up knowing that being outside, running, exercising is a normal part of life – it’s fun and it’s what we do as a family!

Sporting Goods – Shopping in Okinawa

Recently Shane and I took a day and went looking for all sorts of places that selling sporting goods. This island is so focused on sports I just knew that there had to be some good places to buy running gear instead of constantly shopping online. What we found was that there are a lot of specialty stores. The signs will denote that they only sell soccer gear or baseball gear, etc. I remembered Jeanne sporting a great running skirt one day and mentioning a place called Sports Depot.

As luck would have it – we found ourselves driving right passed it! So we U-Turned and headed in. I will have to say… IT WAS LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT!

Don't let this picture fool you - this place was HUGE! Look how tiny their shopping baskets are - we each took one!

They have an amazing shoes selection - this is only one isle of about 4 isles just for shoes. They have models of Asics I can't even find online.

The shoe section is to die for but their prices will definitely break the bank with the Yen – U.S Dollar rate being so terrible. I went crazy in that place. Pilling clothes a mile high on their tiny little shopping carts and zoomed over to the dressing rooms! Out of a mess of 40 outfits I had selected I easily narrowed it down to 6! I was so excited about this – now I can wear a different outfit each day of the week I run or train and still have one outfit left over in case I don’t get to laundry before the next week of training starts! YAY! I found Nike, Puma, and Under Armor – just to name a few recognized brands but they also have countless other great Japanese brands as well.

This is gross – but before I went shopping I only had one pair of shorts and two pairs of Capri’s – I was re-wearing sweaty running clothes! YUK! I’m sure I stunk!

I found their prices to be better than on base – even w/ the exchange rate – but that was mainly on the sale racks or no-name brands. They only items that were over priced (for me) were the shoes. The same exact pair of Asics that I wear were there and after the conversion rate those shoes would have cost me $160 from Sports Depot as apposed to on base they were $80.

I fell in love with these but can't find them anywhere online! Dangit!

Now – let me tell you – they had some expensive stuff there. I was amazed at how expensive the compression wear is. I was able to snag a pair for $50 (it was my most expensive item purchased). They are totally worth it though. HOWEVER, once you are sweaty and you stop to cop-a-squat behind some bushes to pee…they are practically impossible to get back on. My potty break on my 7-mile run this passed weekend took about 6 minutes total! 1 minute to pee and 5 to try and get my shorts back on!

Paleo!

Nutritional Tidbits!

Here is one of my new FAVORITE recipes from the Loren Cordain Paleo Diet book. I eat this as a recovery brunch! So after I get my recovery smoothie in and am showered for the day I am usually starving – this hits the spot every time!

The recipe is CHILI-LIME SHRIMP and it is listed in the book under the starters and appetizers.

First, I buy a large bag of medium sized shrimp and portion them out into sandwich baggies. This turns out to be a perfect one person serving size too! In the morning I set it out in my kitchen window to thaw – usually by the time I am ready to eat them they are thawed but if not I just run hot water into the bag and then drain it – works like a charm!

Perfect!

Now since these shrimp are already cooked I have to make a few changes to the cooking instructions of this recipe. I don’t want my shrimp to get rubbery.

Chili-Lime Shrimp

2 Tbsp EVOO

1 garlic clove, minced (I like two)

1/2 c. cherry tomatoes, sliced in half (I omit these)

1lb Med. Shrimp

1 tsp. Paprika

2 Tbsp Cilantro

Juice from half a lime

Cayenne pepper to taste!

How to: Heat oil in a cast iron skillet (or any skillet) over medium heat. Add garlic and saute while stirring for one minute. Add tomatoes and continue stirring for two minutes.

(At this point I turn off the heat to complete the rest – but if your shrimp are raw keep the heat on)

Toss in the shrimp and continue stirring for 2-3 minutes. Shrimp is done when it is pink. Turn off the heat and toss with paprika and cilantro. Squeeze lime juice over the shrimp and sprinkle with cayenne pepper. (I love to add feta cheese to mine and eat it in a bowl!)

I made this once for a get together at the house and everyone asked me for the recipe before they left! Wink, Wink!

What my typical dinner prep looks like now! I love my new Pampered Chef 2 cup and 1 cup measuring cups! This was for the Puerto Rican Beef recipe and it was delicious!

Dinner is all prepped and ready to be cooked!

Miles YTD = 155.75

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

