Competitive By Nature

T-Shirt from the Race!

This weekend Shane, Nola and I got up at 4:30am and drove to Camp Schwab (MCB) to participate in their Functional Fitness 3.5K “Fun Run.” The last FF event I participated in was March 5th and I was just getting over my quad injury. So needless to say – I was excited about this event because I really feel like I have come so much further in my fitness, strength, and overall physical abilities – PLUS – I was getting to have my husband there supporting me!

I had been doing some positive/creative visualizations for days about the event. Seeing myself being strong and racing neck and neck to the finish! The night before the race I had a dream that it was me and one other girl (probably the woman who placed 1st in the last FF race) running it to the end and I look over at Shane and I curse out loud – “Damnit, why is it so hard to pass this chick!” HAHA! No, really – that was my dream! Turns out – I wouldn’t be having a photo finish after all!

The morning air was thick and heavy with humidity; it had rained ALL night and was still pouring when I got up. You can just feel the moisture on your skin and you know – you’re gonna sweat buckets. I packed up some Gatorade, bananas, cut oranges, Ziploc of red grapes, and my Nuun water for Shane’s recovery and mine PLUS some snacks for Nola. Gotta keep the little one happy or it makes for a mental challenge during the race. We were the first to arrive and sign in – then headed out for a light jog and warm-up. The turn out wasn’t nearly as big as the previous event on Kinser so I immediately felt a little relief.

There were 6 stations all together over this 2 mile hellishly hilly run! We line up in the gymnasium for a brief on what to expect and immediately I realize this is going to be tough!  When we line up at the start line I realize the woman standing next to me is another one of Jeanne’s clients. I saw her at the nutrition brief a few weeks ago. We gab a bit and she seemed nervous. I told her not to worry – this would be just like a HARD training session with Jeanne – and I meant it! We wished each other luck and then waited for the gun to fire!

Station 1 – 25 TRX suspended atomic push-ups

My feet were all twisted and I did about 10 pushups this way before I hear anything about the crunch part...ugh!

Everyone had a hard time with these. If you click on the photo you can see people (Nola too!) in the background all struggling and how their feet are all the way to the deck…not suppose to be like that. Most of the gear wasn’t hung correctly – your feet shouldn’t be touching the ground while your suspended and luckily mine was hung right but I just didn’t know how to untangle my feet. We were suppose to do a push-up and then pull our knees into our chests for a crunch – w/ the gear too low you couldn’t pull your legs in. Shane’s gear was so low he couldn’t get any tension for his feet so he ended up just doing push-ups til I was done and then he left for the next station with me. I ended up getting fed up that people who couldn’t do them right were just leaving and heading for the next station so I hurried to finish my set so I could catch up.

Station 2 – 50m traveling burpee, 50m walking lunges, 50m traveling spiderman push-up

The "traveling" portion of the burpees!

This station was by far the hardest and when we arrived the trainer supervising yelled “welcome to your worst nightmare!” This was a total quad, hamstring and glute burnout. I have never ever done the spider man crawly things and by the looks of it neither had anyone else there! It was the hardest and yet the funniest station. Shane was too busy doing the rest of the workouts w/ me to get any more photos from this station. If you want to know what I’m talking about just google it and add cross-fit in your search window.

Station 3 – 100 Russian twists w. a 15lb kettle bell

This is where I really made some headway and passed about 6 more people. My core is probably one of my strongest areas and I was able to take NO breaks here while I pounded out these rotations. I kept going and just watched as the young Marines around me were breaking to complain or take water. I recovered my breath while doing these as well, which really helped me gain back my focus and give my quads a break. I took off from this station w/ a faster pace than I started the race.

Station 4 – 30 squat thrusts w/ a 35lb weight bar

This was a tough one too. The weight was way heavier than I am used too and trying to stay on my heels was making my legs shake almost out of control. I maintained a good form and the trainer here complimented me several times!!! (wink, wink Jeanne!) Girls had to do 30 and guys had to do 40. This is where I almost completely caught up with the two Marines in front of me. We took off running from here and it was all UP HILL to the next station but I was tailing them close.

Station 5 – 20 push thrusts w/ a medicine ball

"Push"

"Thrust"

I got to this station fatigued and watched as the two Marines took off again while I completed my reps. I took a minute after completing my set to take in Gatorade and blow my nose! I knew I had given those guys another head start so I tried to run fast but my legs were starting to get worn out. Luckily it was a slight down hill and some flats to the next station.

Station 6 – 25 Sumo Dead lifts w/ a 35lb kettle bell

Once again, I caught up w/ the two Marines during the running portion of our station transition. I started my set only about 5 reps after them and when I was at my 5th rep of this when they took off for the finish. I looked in complete disbelief and said, “How did they do these so fast?” The supervising trainers said, “Yeah a thing called Integrity…they did about 10 fewer reps than they should have.” I said, “They just don’t want to be beat by a girl.” The trainer laughed and said, “yeah when they got here they looked back and said, “here she comes!”

and there's me - 5 reps in - watching those guys take off


I finished my 25 lifts and take off. My legs are tired but I am fired up to catch these guys. I can start to see them but it is all up hill to the finish – WHY ARE THERE SO MANY HILLS! I try to remind myself that I train on hills all the time, I GOT THIS! But my legs seemed to be disagreeing…because I was looking WAY ahead and all I could see was a  BIG hill. Then I noticed that there was someone motioning them to turn right… OMG – the finish is RIGHT THERE. I kick it in again and I lean forward to push hard off my toes to thrust me up hill faster. I hear Shane yelling – GO GET ‘EM BABE! But it was too late – they were too far ahead of me this time. I still pushed hard and finished strong. Not my normal sprinting finishes – I was wasted from the heat. As I was nearing the finish line I started to feel like all of my skin all over my body was on fire. I started to wonder what it felt like when people were experiencing heat exhaustion… I knew it was too humid and the sun was starting to come out more and more throughout the race. We didn’t start until after 8am – which is late for trying to avoid heat and humidity here.

I proudly crossed that finish line with nothing left in my tank. I placed 3rd overall and was the first female to cross the finish line. I was shaking, my breath was paced but I still felt like I couldn’t breath. I poured some cold water over my head and just kept moving. I took my sunglasses off to look at my skin – it didn’t look sunburned… hmmm. Shane comes through the finish a few minutes after me and we head to the car to get our recovery snacks. My legs are like Jell-O.

A few moments go by as we’re walking back to the finish area and I realize that the woman I saw at the start (Jeanne’s other client) isn’t here. I tell Shane I’m gonna go find her and run with her to the finish and he comes with me. We walk the reverse path of the course and just a few 100 meters down the road we see her walking in with a trainer. We all jog across the finish together and high five w. one another! It was a great way to end a really tough morning! I hope this woman realizes just how tough of a race she had just completed and feels proud for seeing it all the way through. A finish is a finish and no one can take that away from you!

Here we all are finishing together!

The Pevehouse Fam after the race! Thanks Maureen for snapping a few photos of us!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Leibach
    May 09, 2011 @ 20:57:29

    I enjoyed re-living that super hard course while reading your post! Great job out there-sounds like you should have beaten those dudes!

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      May 09, 2011 @ 21:34:54

      Hi Heather – thanks so much for checking back in on this posting… Did you
      see you, your husband and little man in those pictures?! You were right
      behind me on the burpees!

      Reply

      • Heather Leibach
        May 11, 2011 @ 05:25:07

        Haha yeah, extra bonus for us on the pics, we never think ahead and coordinate like you did! Hope your week of training is going well; I’m finally not sore from Saturday!

      • There She Goes
        May 11, 2011 @ 12:17:47

        If you check out the MCCS athletics Facebook page there is an album of the FF run. You guys are in there several times too! If you click on download at the bottom left of the photo you can save it to your computer. ;o)

  2. Catherine
    May 10, 2011 @ 10:22:58

    You GO GIRL!!! I am so proud of you!!! Congratulations! xoxo

    Reply

  3. Maureen
    May 10, 2011 @ 17:52:37

    Sarah- You are doing so well on this journey, congratulations! It was wonderful to watch you in this race and I know it meant so much to Carol that you went back to finish with her. How wonderful that your husband is home and he was right there with you:)

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      May 11, 2011 @ 06:38:25

      Thank you sooo much Maureen for taking the time to read my blog and leave me a comment!!! It was nice and such a surprise to see a familiar face there and I am sure that Carol really appreciated all the support she was shown by you and her family – this was my first time to do a race w/ Shane and Nola both there for me! So I can relate!

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

