Happy Homecoming!

WOW – what a week – the little one finally got into day care on base and the hubbs came home!

1st time together as a family after the 8 month deployment!!!!

My husband is finally home from Afghanistan. He was gone 8 months (almost) and had 5 flight changes or delays before getting back to us here in Okinawa, Japan. He arrived Tuesday morning and I still managed to get in all my miles this week and that morning before his arrival. I found that running 4 miles the morning he was due in really helped me work off the nervous energy.  Sunday night I made a huge sign (this is when we thought he was coming home Monday @ 7am) so that he would be able to see us easily in the crowd and know which direction to go. I had gone to the commissary and stocked up on my “Week Two” Paleo Items and was so ready for him to be home. I had picked out an outfit for this occasion and of course changed it like 20 times! I ran out and bought the little one a gorgeous dress and felt pretty prepared.

My awesome sign!

We all crowded under the pavilion – mostly wives and children but there were some parents there and other Marines anxiously waiting. After about an hour of standing around we finally see 5 white buses roll into the lot and everyone started to hoot, holler and cheer. I held up my sign above my head but the wind was making it hard to do. It had just started to rain right before they pulled in. Luckily my husband saw us (the sign worked perfect) because I was looking in the completely wrong direction for him! Shane came up carrying a little bear for Nola and his arms wide open for me! We hugged for a long time and semi made out (hehe!) and then we turned out attention to Nola. She was waiting patiently in her stroller not really knowing what to make of all the fuss and all these people in camo. Shane sheepishly handed her the bear and she graciously accepted his peace offering. I unbuckled her and she went right to her daddy! It was the best feeling ever to see that she wasn’t afraid of him or feeling at odds. YAY!

Paleo!

Nutrition Updates:

This week I have entered in to my 2nd week of the Paleo Solution 30 day challenge. I am finding that my recovery time is much better on this diet, my food cravings have pretty much diminished (even though I still indulge in chocolates!) and I feel great overall. I still get lots of questions from neighbors and friends wanting to know how in the world we are doing this – no carbs and all… and it’s really really simple.

I used to bake a French Loaf just so I could eat them…alone…all for myself! No joke! I was a breadaholic! …Hi, my name is Sarah and I’m a breadaholic…I’ve been clean for two weeks now…and I’m feeling like a new person…

Okay – so maybe I’m not that into bread but I am for surely addicted to sugar. I know I wrote about sugar addiction in my last post – but the more I get away from processed foods and refined carbs the more that I see I am still taking in lots of sugar and it’s more of a habit (i.e. addiction) than a really need in my diet.

So what have we been eating…well here it is:

Breakfasts:

–       Slices of thick cut deli ham (so yummy), unsweetened Apple Sauce w/ Cinnamon stirred in, and a handful of almonds w/ a glass of Fat Free Milk

–       3 poached eggs w/ bacon and a pile of diced tomato & avocado & Hot Tea sweetened w/ local honey

–       Scrambled Eggs w/ Sautéed zucchini and orange juice

Snacks:

–       Oranges

–       diced strawberries & blueberries mixed up w/ finely chopped nuts and coconut shavings, Zone Bars (protein and chocolate = yum!)

–       Jerky

Lunches:

–       Grilled burger patties w/ diced yellow or orange bell peppers and fresh minced garlic topped w/ cheese and salad greens and tomatoes

–       Chicken Salad w/ diced tomato, avocado, finely chopped almonds, feta, balsamic vinegar

Dinners:

–       Baked Salmon Fillets w/ Roasted asparagus

–       Stir fried steak (in low sodium soy sauce) w/ steamed broccoli and a side salad

–       Homemade Pork Curry

I have had to tweak my snacks or recovery intake because of my athletic activities but other than that this Paleo way of eating is always tasty and satisfying.

Training Updates:

Had to cancel on Tuesday with Jeanne due to Shane’s arrival but she gave my workouts for the week to do on my own. We meet back up on Thursday for our regular session.

Thursday: Wow – so last post I mentioned some crazy talk about not being pushed hard enough – or holding myself back (mentally) and I mean WOW – Jeanne broke me off!

The Workout – 10 rounds of 10 box jumps, 5 pull-ups, 10 push-ups, 20 sit-ups (varied to work diff ab muscles), 30 squats.

Example of Box Jumps

Resistance Band assisted Pull-up is the kind I do (except I cross my legs for safety)

I completed this workout in about 30 minutes and my legs and shoulders were shaking and on the way to the car (though I told no one) I felt a little pukey as I ate my banana!

Friday – I woke up SORE! My quads were still smoked. I went for my 4 mile run and even though I felt good throughout the run – when I stopped running is when the muscle tightness kicked. I was hobbling the rest of the day and took Saturday off.

Sunday – Got my long run in on the treadmill due to high winds and rain. I broke it up in 2.5-mile increments. In between I hopped off and did jumping jacks and pushups.

2011 Goals Update:

Got my substitute teacher packet turned in to the DODD school Friday. Got a call back today that there were a few documents that they changed the requirements on and I ran in to update my packet. The secretary said that they are extremely short on Substitute teachers here and will push my packet through (since May 1st was the cutoff for this school year). So please, everyone, keep your fingers crossed for me in the hopes that I get hired on! It’s been my plan for the last two years to be able to get hired on w/ the Department of Defense School system here (less competitive over seas for the positions) and then when we go back to the states – just transfer. Why haven’t I turned in my packet sooner? Well, mainly b/c Nola was not in daycare and the wait list for the on-base CDC (child development center) was very long. We were notified that there was an opening two weeks ago – got all the paperwork and shots done – Monday was her first day! This freed me up to be able to turn in my packet and be confident that if I were to get called in for a sub day I would be able to have a place for Nola to go. She has already learned two things in sign language – we are very excited about this! Anyhow, one more thing checked off of my 2011 goal list – see tab at the top of the website.

Miles ran this week = 18.85

YTD = 179.91

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    May 02, 2011 @ 08:55:21

    Way to go girlie!!! I am so happy you all are back together. Enjoy that first time feeling of being back together again….its awesome. Anyhow your mileage is looking good and box jumps are one of my favorite exercises so rock on sista!!! I have not been keeping up on my mileage but have been running and hitting some hardcore strength training with Chad. I am going to try to even things out hear and balance the both but I needed desperately to reincorporate the weights. So we all want to know???? Was Shane blown away by his wife or WHAT???

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      May 02, 2011 @ 14:07:02

      Haha! Well, he doesn’t like the short hair…but he definitely likes the body! lol! We had discussed me taking some time off from my personal training sessions b/c of the costs and just doing some of the group fitness classes (free) on base – but after he got home and has now seen me and the progress that I’ve made and how much I am thriving from this experience he told me not to stop my sessions with Jeanne. He was like, “no babe – just keep doing what you’re doing!” HA! YES!

      The newness is fun and exciting but it’s also tough. I was soooo used to being alone all the time that I feel a little overwhelmed at times.

      Sounds like you are really keeping in shape between your marathons! I can’t wait to be able to talk about my experience with you!

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

