Keeping Myself Motivated

I couldnt have said it better myself!

Today was an easy day – I ran 3 miles in the park. My warm-up consisted of a 100 count of core work – my choice on how to knock it out. So I did 25 full sit-ups, 25 crunches, 25 oblique sit-ups rotating sides on a 10 count, and 25 leg rolls in.

I was still feeling so sore (calves and chest) from Tuesdays’ stair workout – I’ll note that below in my Training Updates – and I was just not in the mood to be running. Feels strange to say but it’s the truth. It was all I could do to drag my butt off the couch and out the door to run this morning. Then, the whole run I was miserable – my head was all messed up – just didn’t feel like a good run and when I looked over my times – it certainly showed. I was averaging about an 11min pace or slower.

This is bound to happen again and again throughout this yearlong journey to my marathon finish – I just need to be prepared for how to conquer my own bad moods!

Theres me w/ my big Dinosaur Brains! (thats for you Kayla!)

Not a whole lot to report this posting! I’m still doing well with all of my Paleo eating and am still daydreaming about snacks and things I used to eat…but now I don’t!

I have had some great eats though and even found some good ways to quench that sweet tooth of mine – though I think anymore it is more out of habit then an actual craving that drives me for sweets.

I had a new take on breakfast – grilled sausage on a bed of greens with salsa poured on top – omgosh – so yummy and it really stuck with me. That is the one thing I really like about this Paleo way of eating – I am not hungry all the time. I feel very satisfied and don’t have all the between meal cravings or snacks anymore.

Thats about 1.5lbs of meat and I ate it all!

The snack creation I came made up consists of fresh berries that I have cut and placed in a bowl for a few hours so they get a chance to make a little juice! Like cutting strawberries and tossing in blueberries and recently I added raspberries but they were too seedy for my liking. I add 2 tbsp or so sweetened coconut shavings and a handful of walnuts that I chop in my food chopper. I mix it all together in a bowl.

This serving is in a 2C. measuring bowl.

Training Updates: 

Tuesday – the HILL!!!! Omgosh – so for those of you who didn’t see my posting from the last time we did the steps to heaven…here is the picture. At least I knew what I was in for and I was actually looking forward to it. I know it makes my legs stronger for sure.

This is the view from where I parked my car - the left side is where I walked on my tip toes...ugh!

We did 3 sets of my walking these. Were aiming for 4 but we were on a time crunch that day. The first round was just straight up – no break. The second round was me walking up the smooth side (next to the stairs) until I hit a landing and then switching over to doing box jumps up the next set of stairs until the next landing. I alternated between walking up the smooth part on my tippy toes and the box jumps all the way to the tippy top! Then the 3rd round was walking up and at every landing I had to drop and do 10 pushups – all the way to the top!

By the time I got done my legs were quivering all over. I couldn’t even hold a good stretch for the shaking and my chest is soooo sore from all the pushups – Jeanne makes me go deep into it so that my hips and face almost touch the ground and that counts as ONE plank pushup. As I get fatigued I know she lets the form slide a bit and I usually have to go to my knees for the girl version of a pushup. It’s still tough on the chest though. My core is sore too.

Today – Easy breezy 3 miles – mentally tough – I was all over the map with reasons why I wasn’t enjoying my run. ONE – I was pushing the stroller. Usually that does NOT bother me but for some reason now that I know Nola will be going to the CDC (Child Development Center – Daycare) on base starting next week – I am just so antsy to run solo. We have been on that waiting list since she was 3 months old (she is 17 months now).

This is a good thing for many reasons – I can tell that she thrives from child-to-child interaction, I need a break, I need to get caught up on so much reading for school and started on two separate research projects for this term, and I can now run without my precious little bundle of 40 extra pounds!

Paleo!

Nutrition Updates:

The nutrition log is back up and running!

Blog Updates:

I added a new page – Racing Log – the old tab was outdated and had only 5K listed. This is just going to be a log of the races completed – before I had upcoming races and didn’t always attend them. This format should work better!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aimee
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 22:28:40

    Does Nola really weigh 40 lbs or is that with the stroller included?

    Reply

  2. Groff's Girl
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 01:33:27

    It is hard to stay motivated when tired mentally, that is for sure. I am still struggling with jetleg pretty bad!! Gavin is too, so we have been up through out the night ever since we have left Okinawa…augh! I was time crunched to hurry and run this morning so I took to the MIL’s treadmill. Is in the downstairs, in a small room and although it overlooks the snow covered lake (a very pretty view) I was suffering HARD. I was tired (jetleg and lack of consistent sleep), hadn’t eaten yet (time crunch) and was finding it hard to keep my breath…not really sure what that was about. I literally go to a mile (at 5.0) and decided I needed to finish it later when I had actually woken up and fed my body. I am hoping to get a trainer in Germany to help me mix things up and keep me guessing! Later today (after the run) will be a nice mix-up of my planks, squats, and body weight training! Wish I could go run at the park with you! PCSing and all of the hectic stuff sucks and I am bummed I didn’t get to hang with you!!!!! YOU are doing great and are really just improving so much everyday!! WAY TO GO!!!!

    Reply

    • There She Goes
      Apr 21, 2011 @ 06:43:10

      I can’t imagine seeing a snow covered lake right now – not in Okinawa anyhow! but snow sounds refreshing! Definitely consult with a trainer or 5 – just make sure you find one that is a good match for you!

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

