Holy Hilly Steps & Roasted Pineapple a la Mode

Of all the wonderful life changing experiences I have been through in my short 28 (soon to be 29) years on in this planet not many compare to the changes I have experienced in this “evolution” of mommy running/fitness/deployment-juggle. I’m mainly talking about the internal experiences! So I am not trying to compare this Living Runner’s World blog experience to childbirth – I think that one stands alone compared to most everything else in the world!

What I am trying to say is that – sometimes you never really know yourself until you are pushing the limits of physical and mental fatigue from exercise… But that will be for a different blog post when my mind is fresh!

Training Updates:

Last week was great! Ended with some really sore calves but took a trip to Kadena’s Risner Fitness Center to see Mary who specializes in Acupressure and she fixed me right up. Was able to run 4 miles to problem the next evening.

On Friday I went for my Fitness RE-Assessment to see what my gains have been thus far into my training. I decided to plug in my stats from last year as well – So the Jan 2010 fitness stats are my body at 2 months post-partum, the Jan 2011 are from the week I started my training w/ Jeanne and the 3rd column is the re-assessment.

Fitness Profile: Pevehouse 1/25/10 1/19/11 3/18/11
Total Weight 146.1 135.3 131.2
Lean Weight 105.3 108.6 111.2
Water Weight 78.3 80.8 82.7
Protein Weight 27 27.8 28.5
Systolic Blood Pressure 129 113 105
Diastolic Blood Pressure 74 79 78
Resting Heart Rate 79 87 53
Aerobic Fitness n/a 41 41.8
Body Fat % 27.9 19.7 17.2
Back Flexibility 57 47 54
Bicep Strength 56 60 58
Total Fitness Score n/a 74 81

The numbers that I am the most proud of are for the resting heart rate! Big improvements there and of course the body fat percentage is pretty awesome as well! (Thanks Jeanne!)

Met w/ Jeanne today and can you say HOLY HILLY STEPS! She had me climbing some serious hilly steps!

This is the view from where I parked my car

Today – Step Workout – 3x
first time -straight walking (concentrating on pushing up through the forward heel and pushing up through the calf with the trail leg with all rounds) (2 min break at bottom)
2nd time – 2 push-ups per landing, two min break at bottom
3rd time – wearing a vest (12lb weighted vest)

When we drove up the crazy winding road behind Okinawa Soba I was starting to get the impressing that I was really in for a surprise – I had no idea just what! Then we rounded a corner and there they were to the right, those menacing stairs all the way up as far (and a little further) as the eye could see.

This is the view from the road just after rounding the corner!

So the first round wasn’t so bad – it never is b/c you really don’t know what your in for just yet so you just push yourself not knowing how you’ll feel in the end. The 2nd time around is always the toughest because you know what you’re in for and for my second round of steps Jeanne added in me doing 2 pushups at every landing – which were very frequent! So sometimes I would only get 10 steps in and then drop for my pushups – all the way to the top! I actually liked the 3rd round the best b/c it was the most challenging. You could really feel the difference those extra 12 pounds made even with your first step up. I just kept my head down focusing on my steps and pushed through. BY FAR the hardest part was coming down. You had to go slow and you have to concentrate on your steps. These cement steps were all varying in their width and height so sometimes you were taking short steps and other times you were taking much longer strides between steps. My legs were a quivering mess when I was done. The rest of the day running up and down the steps at home made my quads burn!

On another note about today – I wore my trail shoes for this session and they were friggin’ awesome! Can’t wait to get them in the dirt! I love that when you find the shoes that works for you there is no “breaking them in”. I just put them on right out of the box and go run or train and I never had any aches, pains or blisters. They’re like a glove every time.

The rest of the week is mapped out all gearing me up for my FIRST EVER 10K! I have talked two of my neighbors into running with me (YAY Kelly and Alicia!). I am so super stoked to have support and women who love to run along side me for this experience – I am also very grateful to my neighbor Krimp who volunteered to watch Nola for me as soon as she found out I hadn’t found a babysitter yet. Wish me luck! And of course I’ll be posting about that one after Sunday.

Nutrition Updates:

I tried a new recipe from the Athlete’s Palette book.

Roasted Pineapple a la Mode 

This was super yummy! Im sure I scooped out way too much ice-cream though!

Satisfy your post-run sweet tooth with this refreshing dessert.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The Ingredients
Eight 3/4-inch-thick fresh pineapple rings, cored and peeled (If you have one, use a small round cookie cutter to core the pineapple. It makes it a cinch. )
2 tablespoons light butter (stick, not tub)
2 tablespoons light brown sugar (not packed)
2 cups fat-free double-churned or slow-churned vanilla ice cream
Preheat the oven to 400°F.

How To Make It: Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. Put the butter in a small microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on low for 20 to 45 seconds.

Place the pineapple rings side by side on the prepared baking sheet. Use a pastry brush to brush half of the melted butter evenly over the tops, and then sprinkle evenly with half of the brown sugar. Bake for 9 minutes.

Flip the rings and brush them with the remaining melted butter, and then sprinkle with the remaining brown sugar. Bake another 9 to 11 minutes, or until the pineapple is golden brown and warmed through. Divide the rings among 4 or 8 dessert plates or bowls. Scoop 1/4 cup ice cream (if making 8 portions) or 1/2 cup (if making 4 servings) on top of each and serve immediately.

Makes 4 servings.

The Nutrition Facts 220 Calories
4 g protein
45 g carbs
4g fat

OKAY – so this was super YUM Awesome. I didn’t follow the ingredients list very well though so I am pretty sure mine had way more calories. I used canned pineapples, tub butter and I didn’t even measure the brown sugar – I just sort of dumped it on there. I also added cinnamon – which was GREAT! So my pictures show the pineapples a little dark from the cinnamon. This was also super easy – I know sometimes I stress about dessert when we have guests over for dinner but this would be perfect and fast! The only thing I would do differently is cutting up the pineapples before dishing up on the ice-cream. Sometimes it shard to chop through the pineapple with a spoon in melty ice-cream.

Terrible, tiny image but all I could find.

Sun-Rype Fruit Bars!

One more New FAV of ours a fruit bar I found at the Commissary (Foster) in the produce section. These are healthy, natural, and easy! I can carry these with me in the diaper bag and share them with the kiddo on the go. I have seriously been munching down on these so much I might just poop a fruit bar! Lol! Give ‘em a try and see what you think! For right now I can only buy them as individuals but I might just have to look on Amazon for some bulk ordering – 0.80 cents a pop might get expensive!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 02:26:34

    the roasted pineapple a la mode sounds sooooooo good, i will have to try it sometime.

    Reply

  2. deana
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 02:42:27

    Wow! what great progress you must be so psyched. Fitness and feeling good about your self as a new mom is so important. WTG! How are things where you are in Japan? Your still able to get outside, no concerns with the air quality after the earth quake. Stay safe.

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 23, 2011 @ 18:28:22

      Hi Deana – thanks so much for your wonderful comment – and YES being a new mom came with some major challenges and learning curves like nothing else but staying active has really made me be able to go with the flow much better!
      We are located on an island called Okinawa and it is way South of Mainland Japan – so for now, we are not being evacuated and we are not getting hit with any radioactivity (that we know of). There was a broadcast that some of the food might be contaminated so I’m not shopping at the Farmers Markets anymore.

      Thanks so much for reading my blog and taking the time to comment! ;o)

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

