Mocha-Cinnamon Pudding & Hearty Ham Soup


It is no secret that I love to eat…and I love to eat sweets! So testing all of these different RW recipes has been fun to say the least. I have two new YUMMY recipes to post about this week.

First up is the Mocha-Cinnamon Pudding (less than 200 cal per serving) that is oh so creamy and rich (and I am not a chocolate lover). Second, the Hearty Ham & White Bean Soup w. Cabbage & Carrots (also the worlds longest soup name! lol!) and man was is satisfying for lunch and dinner!


Mocha-Cinnamon Pudding
(Recipe by Pam Anderson)

Ingredients:

¼ C. Sugar

3 Tbsp Cornstarch

2 tsp. instant coffee mix or espresso powder

½ tsp. ground cinnamon

Pinch Salt

2 C. low fat chocolate milk

2 oz. bittersweet chocolate, very finely chopped

1 tsp. vanilla extract

How To: Whisk the sugar, cornstarch, coffee, cinnamon, and salt in a large saucepan. Whisk in milk over medium heat, then cook for about 5 min., stirring occasionally at first, then frequently, and constantly at the end, until mixture thickens to pudding consistency. Remove from heat; add chocolate and vanilla, whisking until chocolate is smooth. Serve warm or pour into 5 (small) containers, placing plastic wrap directly on the pudding serface to keep a skin from forming. Refrigerate up to 5 days. Serves 5.

Calories per serving: 176, Carbs: 30G, Protein: 3G, Fat 6G

The image in the magazine (Feb issue) was of a chocolate pudding w/ raspberries on top. I thought that looked yummy so I added the raspberries to mine as well… great addition and combo of flavors. The only things that I would differently (probably b/c I am not a chocolate lover) is (1) I would cut the chocolate down by a 1/2oz. I taste tested the pudding before I added the bittersweet chocolate and I think it was much yummier before. The bitter sweetness sort of cuts out the sugar.(2) I would do 1 cup chocolate milk and 1 cup white milk! Again, probably b/c I am not a chocoholic! This recipe is very rich and creamy and hits the spot for an after dinner treat. A little bit goes a long way and that says a lot coming from me b/c I have a mean sweet tooth and will gobble up dessert even if I don’t like it that much – just to get the sugar in my mouth! Lol! You think I’m joking…but I’m not!

The Soup recipe I got from a recently purchased cookbook called the “Athlete’s Palate.”I have grown tired of looking for recipes in the RW website and the magazines only have a few here and there each month so I thought a cookbook would cut to the chase! Yishane Lee and the editors of RW compiled this book of recipes composed of renowned chefs favorites for fueling up and eating healthy.



Hearty Ham & White Bean Soup w. Cabbage & Carrots
(by Pam Anderson) Good recovery food

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp. EV OO

1 large sweet onion, chopped

1 ½ tsp. Italian seasoning

2 large carrots, halved length wise and thinly sliced

½ small cabbage, cored and cut into bite size shreds

12 oz. Lean ham steak, finely diced

1 Quart Chicken broth

1 can (14.5 oz) petite-diced tomatoes

2 cans (15-16 oz) White Beans, undrained

2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley (optional)

How To: Heat the oil over medium-high heat in a soup kettle or a large pot. Add the onion and cook, stirring frequently, until soft and golden, about 5 minutes. Add the Italian seasoning and cook, stirring frequently, until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add the carrots, cabbage, ham steak, chicken broth, tomatoes, and beans. Bring to a full simmer. Reduce the heat to low and continue to simmer, partially covered, until the vegetables are just cooked, about 15 minutes. Stir in the parsley, if using. Cover and let stand for 5 minutes. Serve.

Okay – I wasn’t sure what “white beans” meant so I just looked at the Commissary for a can of beans that were white and I decided on Great Northern Beans. I also did not add the fresh parsley – b/c there wasn’t any available to purchase. This soup was extremely delicious and very filling, satisfying and stayed with me for a long time. I ate this for lunch at 12:30 and I didn’t have dinner until after 6pm – and I was by no means starving. I didn’t even want to snack throughout the day like usual. I would do nothing different at all with this recipe.

Training Updates:

Thursday’s Workout:  5 rounds of 200 jump ropes, 25 squats, 25 push-ups, 25 sit-ups.  I made it through 3 ½ rounds before I needed to switch to girlie push-ups with my knees down and then I was cut short on the 5th round – at the 30 min mark.

–I was so drained after this workout I almost took a nap while Nola napped after we got home but I had too much homework to get done for my Sociology class.

Friday: Warm-Up: Yoga, Workout: Run 2 miles at a 9min/mile pace.

–This ended up being a treadmill run b/c I went to the gym for a 9am Beginners Yoga class and dropped Nola off at the COOP. When the class was done I still had 30 minutes left before I had to be back to pick her up so I decided to just squeeze the run and be done with my workout for the day! The beginner’s class of Yoga wasn’t nearly as challenging as the Yoga I am used. I think it was actually better for me though considering I pulled a quad last time I was doing the more advanced Yoga. The beginner’s class really focuses more on stretching and balancing. So if anyone who is reading this has been teetering on added yoga to the workout routine – I highly recommend a beginners class b/c the instructors will help you with form and breathing.

Saturday: Warm-Up: 25 jumping jacks, 15 squats slow and easy, 20 push-ups – Workout: 4 miles easy (11-12 min miles)

Sunday and Monday’s are my off days!

Overall, training is still going extremely well. I can see big difference in my body and more importantly I can FEEL it. I feel stronger and I love that. I like knowing that when my little girlie wants me to pick her (even though I am carrying 5 grocery bags and her toys) I can w/out a second thought. I still love doing the cross-training and strength training that Jeanne incorporates into each weeks routines.

Body-By-You: An MCCS Group Fitness Class…this is a class type setting where trainers meet w. a class 3x week for 8 weeks. Most of the classes are $220 – which is an outstanding deal! Jeanne instructs the class that meets on Plaza at Dark-thirty in the morning! Knowing that I simply can’t maintain this sort of rigorous training schedule ALL year long, I talked to Jeanne about switching to this class for the 8 week duration and then getting back into the personal training with her after…she thought it was a great idea. This way I can meet other women who are just as interested in fitness as I am and still have time for my running too!

The plan, for now, is when my husband comes back from Afghanistan we will take a vacation to the states for 30 days. I will work on mileage goals mostly and overall healthy eating, etc. When we come back, I will catch the next available Body-by-You class with Jeanne, getting back into the swing of training and strength. Then, after those 8 weeks are up get back into personal training with Jeanne for speed work, hills, etc. I realized the other day that trying to maintain this sort of thrashing to my body ALL YEAR was really going to be hard on me mentally and physically. I was really glad when she thought it would be a good thing for me to do – switching it up a little.

Reading Notes:

This little blurb I founding “RW Guide to Road Racing” pg. 108

Strength Training – “The trouble is that when runners adopt a strength-training program, they tend to do the standard gym-rat routine – that is, bench presses, bicep curls, and leg presses. While these moves might make you look good, they’re virtually useless for making you a better runner. Think about it: How does pushing a weight away from your chest help you run a faster 10-K? It doesn’t. In fact, lifting weights the way everyone else does may even increase your injury risk b/c typical workouts often lead to strength imbalances between muscle groups and around joints.” They go on to note the 4 key principles in keeping your strength training balanced. They are: (1) Work your backside – people tend to neglect the muscles they can’t see (2) Target your core – your core is the foundation from which all movement is initiated (3) Mix it up – Strong muscles enhance the stability of joints (4) Multitask – make sure your weight room time doesn’t infringe on your road time (you are training for a race after all).

Good News about Yoga – Pg 138 of RW Guide to Road Races. Alysia Mastrangelo, PhD, a professor of physical therapy at Richard Stockton College says, “Tight muscles create imbalances, and every step you take makes the situation worse. Because yoga focuses on balance, flexibility, and proper alignment and can relax and elongate the muscles, I would absolutely recommend it as part of a training program for runners.”

My two pennies: Listen to your body…I obviously didn’t…If you are in a class and you feel like it is too advanced, talk to the instructor after and ask them to give modifications for poses. Or, if you are comfortable with the pace of the class but just struggle to get into some of the poses – don’t worry – it will come with time. I see so many people wincing in pain trying to bend and hold poses that they are clearly not flexible enough for – don’t injury or tear your muscle…just go as far as you can and the rest will happen naturally. Don’t do what I did – if you are seriously sore from previous workout – don’t do Yoga on top of it all. Just wait til the next weeks class when you’re muscles are less fatigued and the class will be much more enjoyable and you won’t risk an injury!

 

Miles ran so far this week = 10.80

Miles ran year-to-date = 83.16

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Groff's Girl
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 15:43:41

    Oh Sarah!! I wish I had listened to my body. I don’t know if I am over-doing it or what. I am doing the shred 2x a week, Yoga meltdown 2x a week and running 3-4 days a week. I barely made it through 2.11 miles of what was supposed to be a 5 mile run. I was wobbly, dizzy, and my body just stopped at one point which left me on the grass/sidewalk. Yesterday it was the same when I went to start my run, my body just started shaking, etc. I stopped weight watchers and have been trying to just eat more naturally, I think I need to get a better meal plan in order! Either way, I am seriously hoping this week is better for me. I know I should be able to handle the exericise part, I think the lack of sleep and upcoming PCS stress may be taking more of a toll on me than I realized…..any suggestions? Oh, and I think one definite solution is a nice whip up of that mocha-cinnamon pudding (soy version)!! Great recipes!!!

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 13, 2011 @ 16:22:03

      Omgosh – here is what I have learned from several years of exercising – then having a baby and now relearning how to exercise! You have to…and I mean HAVE to get sleep and you HAVE to eat… There is no room for dieting when you are exercising routinely. Unless you need to loose more than 15-20lbs – don’t diet. The one thing I have learned this time around – in order to keep my energy levels up I always get into bed by NLT 10pm – period. I prefer to be in bed by 9pm but life happens. Also, I eat 3 main meals a day and always snack in between. Everyone’s dietary needs are way different – but for me – this works great. I have my munchie days but I don’t sweat them (no pun intended!) because I know I’ll just run it off later! You have to enjoy what you are doing and that is the only way it will really become a lifestyle change. Plus, with kids in the mix I make sure that any and all new recipes I try are as little time consuming as possible. The simpler the better for me. On the exercise side of this all – you MUST give yourself two full days of REST. This means honest-to-goodness REST. Not – lets see how much housework, homework, packing, kid fun stuff we can squeeze in! I honestly believe that is where I went wrong and how I ended up with swollen quads. On my rest days I was grocery and PX shopping for hours, then mowing the grass, then walking Nola to the beach, then…the list could go on and on… Now, hind sight being 20/20 – my rest days are exactly that! We play in the yard or in the house and I do some laundry and that’s about it. I enjoy myself and my rest time and then when the week is ready to kick off again I am more than ready.
      Hydration is another key element to all of this too. You need to be hydrating for the anticipated workout as well as the ones you’ve already completed. It took me a while to figure that one out – I have to hydrate for tomorrow’s run today? You betchya!

      I hope some of this helped. I really would like to get my Women’s Running Book to ya soon! It has some great advice in it too.

      Reply

      • Groff's Girl
        Mar 14, 2011 @ 11:09:13

        THANK YOU!! It helps me to hear another mom tell me to REST, I suck at it. I am always doing a workout, tons of catch up errands, (plus working full time), prepping for our PCS and trying to get kid activities in there as well. I drink at least 12-14 glasses of water a day (ever since that dehydration incident) and I honestly feel sick if I don’t drink that much (so glad my body asks for it). I think I need to get a real schedule done, days that are for running and then strength or should I combine? I was thinking if I did my run in the morning 3 days a week and then 3 days a week do the Shred or Yoga Meltdown (those are hard core). So maybe:
        Monday- Yoga Meltdown
        Tuesday- Run in am, Shred in pm
        Wednesday- REST
        Thursday- Run in am, Yoga in pm
        Friday- Shred
        Saturday- Run in am
        Sunday Rest
        What do you think, is it too much????? Next I need to regulate the eating so I know I am getting the right amounts of everything, does your trainer help you with that at all? I am thinking about seeing a nutrionalist (espeically since I have such bad belly issues)! There, sorry for ANOTHER long post 🙂

      • Living Runner's World
        Mar 14, 2011 @ 11:53:17

        I think you should be the judge of whether or not this is too much. I would say that with as much as you have on your plate – you should slow it down a bit. Balance is hard to have when you are trying to do so many different things all at the same time.

        Like I said before – you have to enjoy this too – or it’s not worth it. Definitely want only run every other day (which is how your schedule looks). What are you main goals? To lose weight or to be a better runner? Or to build strength? One of these has to be a priority and the rest should just fit in as you have the time and energy. So I would say – if weight loss is your goal than you need to focus on a calorie goal for daily intake – which is what a nutritionist will tell you (I saw one at the naval hospital before I started my training). When you are expending this much energy you really need to make sure you are taking in enough protein. Protein will also help your muscles recover faster.

        If your goals are to be a better runner – then I would say focus on that for now and until that becomes easy for you – don’t add so much to your routine. Let your body adjust to the demands of running (which is a lot of stress on all parts or your body).

        You really just have to work up to doing as much as you are doing instead of starting out with so many different types of workouts and goals. This is the way to crash and burn. Yoga can be rejuvenating and great but not if your taking away from the time you could be sleeping to do it. I am just such an advocate of sleep! It does magical things for the body! Seriously!

        My trainer doesn’t tell me what to eat but she just told me the importance of protein. There is way too much hype about carbs and they were bogging me and my GI system down. So she preaches to me about the importance of breakfast and protein and that’s about it. She emails me recipes occasionally too. She is a big advocate of the “zone” diet as a lifestyle choice and not so much as a DIET per say.

        When you get into exercise and fitness – nutrition and sleep are like your foundation. The rest are all just building blocks. So it is important to become proficient at one thing before you tackle another. Like what I was saying about only focusing on distance or speed and not both at the same time. Your body has to adjust to the first demand before it can handle the next one.

        I hope all of this made sense!

  2. Groff's Girl
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 14:52:50

    Makes so much sense!!! I think I want to focus on my running and really improving my distance, I am not so worried about my time for now, if I can get more distance THEN I will work on my time for those distances. For example, I was able to go my 5K and then sped it up a bit. My next goal is to be able to run 8K and so I know I want to slow it up so I am able to do that distance. I think I will cut out the Shred for now and just do the yoga because I am really benefiting from the stretching. I notice such a big difference a in the tightness of my muscles before and then how lose and stretched out they are afterwards.
    I would like to lose some pounds because it feels like I am a bloated, weighed down, and tired, but I think that has a lot to do with the lack of sleep as well. That seriously needs to get resolved with poor little Gavin. He will not sleep longer than 3 hours at a time. I have a horrible time getting back to sleep. ALSO, I noticed this morning that he finally just cut 3 teeth all at once. They were not there yestereday, so hopefully that will relieve some of his wake-ups.
    I am going to focus more on protein, more on my running and then just let the yoga aid in keeping my muscles stretched and ready for a run. Tonight I am going to rest COMPLETELY and then go run tomorrow morning. I am not going to set a distance, I am just going to go and see how it feels! I love the running, but I have been making it too hard for myself. I think I have been pushing myself too hard, and I want to make this a permanant staple and not just something that burns me out.
    Thank you for your help!!!! I appreciate all of your ideas!! Now I am going to check out your recipes and nutrition log for some good ideas 🙂

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 14, 2011 @ 15:08:29

      Oh be careful looking at my nutrition log! I snack on whatever I want! I am not a very good example of healthy eating. Breakfast is my strong suit – on workout days I try to always do egg whites w/ Turkey Bacon and recenlty I have been chopping up asparagus and real pork bacon and adding it to the scrambled egg whites. That has been great. Usually I go w. an English Muffin and Peanut Butter. That always hits the spot and then I make sure I replenish w/in 30 min of my workout. I used to always keep a banana on me for that but lately I have been making my own fruit/yogurt smoothies for recovery and it has been yummy and great! I throw in wheat germ and things like that.

      I am so glad I could offer some sort of help!

      Sometimes I way prefer to just go out for a run w/ no Garmin, no stop watch, nothing – just run! Walk when I feel like it and then run again!

      Have fun and get some sleep!

      Reply

  3. AIMEE
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 21:00:20

    GREAT blogging ladies!!! Nutrition and Sleep are definately key. I get all my carbs from fruits and vegetables Jeanne is right although I don’t eat the Zone diet I am strictly Paleo and it is wonderful (except during long runs in which I allow my self to do sports drinks for quick glucose and sodium ). PROTEIN is a must for muscle recovery but refueling post workout with the RIGHT kind of carbs is crucial. Typically you have a 30 min window to get your 4:1 carb/protein refuel after your workout. Then you have to continue you refeuling the rest of the day with protein and healthy carbs (veggies/fruit). Hydration is key but you can over hydrate and deplete you essential sodium. It’s a delicate balance. Weight Watchers is not designed for runners or 5 day a week workouts that entail over an hour of exercise. Eat clean, eat your protein at every meal and get in the nutrient dense carbs (grains, rice, pasta are not nutrient dense). Its a struggle to find what works don’t be to hard on yourself. You don’t need to kill yourself working out to lose weight and look great but Nutrition and Sleep are key factors.

    Reply

  4. Living Runner's World
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 21:12:10

    YAY! Aimee! Thanks for chiming in on this – oh wise one! I’ve been learning to chop veggie up and add them to all sorts of my meals! I wasn’t getting enough fruits and veggies before. So now, in my morning omelet I am adding asparagus and tomatoes finely chopped w/ a new Pampered Chef food chopper! Also, with make a recovery smoothie I am getting way more fruit! This has really helped. I can’t wait to hear all about your 2nd Marathon – I was hoping to do a “interview” of your 1st Marathon experience and post it as a blog! What do you think? Are you ok with that? It offers lots of fame for sure!

    Reply

  5. AIMEE
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 01:10:45

    Don’t need any fame but if it helps other runners I don’t mind reliving my expereience. I hope this one is better although I am worried because I had to back off my training big time during my critical monster month. Plus I was deathly ill this weekend and have not ran in 3 days. I am feeling better today yet not sure yet if I will fit in a run today. Maybe tonight while the girls are at soccer practice. I am super dehydrated couldn’t eat or drink anything yesterday you know the drill. Anyhow I hope the weather report for Sun. holds up and my body does to. I am really excited and nervous because like all runners know you never know how your mind and body will respond on race day. Hoping for the best!!

    Reply

  6. Groff's Girl
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 12:04:30

    Thank you both for your ideas and suggestions. I am so thrown off because I am a wee bit OCD when it comes to my schedule. I run literally within 15 minutes of waking up so I guess I will add a pre-run snack in there! Afterwards I will do my overnight oats with nuts and soy milk, or I will do a REAL egg omelet with spinach and throw in some turkey bacon or some sort of additional protein! I think this is where I was making a big mistake! I would run on empty, eat 1/2 cup egg beaters with spinach and then 2 hours later eat my overnight oats once I get to work. I am going to take more rest and really listen to my body…trial and error until I find my groove!!! I would also love to hear about your experiences, it is always inspiring and exciting to see people accomplish such great goals!!

    Reply

  7. AIMEE
    Mar 15, 2011 @ 20:18:36

    @Groff’s Girl sounds like a great plan just remember that it is equally important to get some of the fast acting high Glycemic index carbs back in you body post workout it is the most effecient time for your body to store these properly for fuel and recovery simple sources are like a glass of OJ or a Banana. It is fine to occassional fast in the AM before runs if your body isn’t hungry then listen to it but if you are going to eat solid food you should try to do it atleast 2 hours before your run. If you do fast you should drink a 4-8 oz of gatorade or some sort of sports (along with some water) drink 10 min prior to rolling out the door you should be good. By doing this you are not giving your body time to make insulin which in turn will store the glucose/sugar from the drink as fat but use it for fuel during your run. Just food for thought. Good luck!

    Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

