Melt-in-your-Mouth Banana Nut Bread

This is Week Nine of my RW challenge!

My most recently tested RW recipe is probably one of the easiest and by far the yummiest of the recipes tested so far! Now I would almost call myself a connoisseur of banana-nut bread – because I l.o.v.e it! If it is there I will eat it, buy it, and even beg for it. When I saw I had a few banana’s that the little monkey and I hadn’t eaten before they reached the point of no return (I’m very picky w. the ripeness of my bananas) I knew I had to seek out a bread recipe. I found this in the archives of the healthy recipe finder on the RW search window.

Flour’s Famous Banana Bread

Ingredients:

1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
(I substituted w/ whole wheat flour)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4-teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2-teaspoon salt

1-cup sugar, plus 2 tablespoons sugar

2-eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil

3 1/2 bananas, very ripe, mashed

2 tablespoons low-fat sour cream

1-teaspoon vanilla

2/3-cup walnuts, toasted and chopped
(I dug mine out of a can of mixed nuts and didn’t toast them!)

How to: Preheat oven to 350°F. Sift together first four ingredients. Beat sugar and eggs with a whisk until light and fluffy. Drizzle in oil. Add bananas, sour cream, and vanilla. Fold in flour mixture and nuts. Pour batter into a buttered 9″ x 4″ loaf pan and bake for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Makes 12 servings. Lower-fat version: Reduce oil to 1/4 cup, add 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (260 calories, 9 grams of fat).

Calories: 310 
Fat: 15 g 
Carbs: 41 g 
Protein: 4 g

I had to cook mine for about 15min longer then this calls for but it could just be the weird oven in our housing unit here. Who knows? I shared this w/ my wonderful neighbor Liz who lent me 2 Banana’s and some sour cream and she raved about it the next day! Which, to me, says a lot b/c Liz is the type of naturally talented cook I could only aspire to be. No really, she gives me leftovers or invites me over for food all the time and I NEVER say NO!

Training Updates: I have been feeling a little hesitant to just jump back into the hill training and speed work in fear if getting injured again but Jeanne and I discussed the game plan for the next week or so and as of next Thursday I will be getting back into both. Eeek!

Today we did 4 rounds of 400M runs at a fast pace w/ intervals of pull-ups, squat thrusts w. a weight bar and sit-ups.

1st round – 4:52 (400m run 21 pull-ups w/green band, 21 thrusters (18lbs), 21 sit-ups)
2nd round – 4:02 (400m run, 15 each ex)
3rd round – 3:30 (400m run, 9 each ex)
last run – 1:45 (400 m run)

Feedback Notes from Jeanne: Today:  Times got better, as you decreased your reps – BUT your run was stronger – turnover better, more distance between strides and foot strike was mid foot, rather than heel.  I would like you to concentrate on arms tomorrow – relaxed, like you were at the end of the run today.

This was a very tough workout. Probably one of the first times I really thought I was going to upchuck after a training session. The running felt good but it was tough to keep up the fast pace with the anaerobic exercises in between the 400m runs. The one thing that I kept thinking while I was running was, “No one can do this work for you – if you want it bad enough – you gotta dig in and just do it!”

I’ve been trying to work on Mantra’s that motivate me for the different states of mind you get into when pushing yourself. While I was running the 5K I realized I was daydreaming and for a moment I let up but then I thought, “I can take more pain than anyone else out here – PUSH IT!

Trust me, with a deployed husband - this is my subconscious mantra for when he gets home!

Jeanne let me know that I would no longer be running 5K races. Since most races fall on Saturday’s and the WOOT runs I want to start doing are on Saturdays we decided to shift my rest days to Sunday’s and Monday’s. Saturday’s will now be my LSR days and if I did a 5K then it would take away from my distance runs and also deplete me for the more important objective of speed and interval training. AGAIN, Jeanne is priceless!

So far my goals with this personal challenge have all been met. I am a little disappointed that it hasn’t been exactly what I thought it would be – the blog and RW thing. I have decided that I can only use the magazine for the motivation and inspiration parts because the website is like a tunnel of years and years of archived info. Too much to weed through and I just don’t have that kind of time. I have school I’m still doing during naptimes and evenings and just being a mom and head of household while my husband is gone is challenging. I was setting out to see if the average person could follow all the guru advice RW puts out there and honestly – it’s overwhelming. I “liked” their FB page and it blows me away at how many posts or new articles they put on their wall everyday. Now I totally understand why people who work full time get up at 4am to get in their workouts and runs – it’s the only time they can make it happen!

Even with having a treadmill in my living room (for those days when I really just can’t get out the door for a run) I dread it…the treadmill is no picnic for anyone but when I look at that thing (staring me down in the corner of the room) and then look at the clock (still digesting dinner the clock strikes 7pm) – I’d rather just get some good sleep and be fresh for the next days challenges than log miles. Needless to say – I’m a morning runner!

Game plan for tomorrow:

Active stretch

warm-up:  30 sit-ups, 15 push-ups, 20 crunches, 10 push-ups.  For extra insurance – 50 step-ups on a curb or stair (nice and easy) to warm up the hip flexor. My right one is sore from the 5K.

Workout of the Day:  1/2 mile (about 12 min pace – nice and easy), next 1/2 pick it up (11 min pace), 2nd mile (10-11 min pace), 3rd mile, 10 min pace.

I think I’ll try somewhere new to run. I’m thinking Comprehensive Park maybe…I’ll report back and let’chya know!

Last Weeks miles = 10.70

Year-to-date miles = 72.36

Miles ran this week = 1 mile

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. AIMEE
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 07:10:31

    Where do I get a can of mixed buts???

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 08:27:02

      I had to re-read my entire post! Buahaha! I wrote my blog at 11pm… I haven’t been up that late since before I had a kid! lol! Still funny though – I even proofed it before I went to sleep and apparently I still thought a can mixed buts made sense! ;o)

      Reply

  2. AIMEE
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 07:21:29

    When will you start increasing your weekly mileage? I agree with you on the you can’t strictly live off of RW running is all about tweaking you nutrition, training, and rest. I have found that a lot of the info you get in the magazines isn’t always the best a lot of it is based off certain studies which are biased anyway. Everyone’s body functions and recovers differently not to mention every running has a different level of experience.

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 08:29:09

      YES, Aimee – I totally had that realization (about not all running plans are for every runner). Before I met with my trainer I planned on following the intermediate plan to the letter. But now that I know more about what my body can do and what different distances feel like – I look at that plan and know it would have killed me. Too much seed work too soon.

      Reply

      • Living Runner's World
        Mar 09, 2011 @ 08:32:33

        Oh – and to answer you about the mileage… Before I got injured my LSR was 5.5miles. Last week my LSR was 3miles and from now on I’ll be increasing it weekly. I should be at 7-8 miles now but because I got sidelined for 3 weeks it was like starting all over again.

  3. Groff's Girl
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 09:36:23

    Sarah!! That bread sounds so yummy, I have been wondering about the recipe since your facebook post 🙂 I think I will give it a shot this weekend….I really want a good recipe for lemon poppyseed loaf!! It was my staple when I used to spend my lunch hours at Starbucks when we lived in Korea! I think I am going to see if Tricia wants to run Comprehensive Park on Saturday. I know they have different routes, I need a slow 5miles or as close as I can get. If we go, would you be interested? I am still not positive, but I think the WOOT run might be a little rough for me this week!

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Mar 09, 2011 @ 09:54:38

      Yum! I love lemon poppyseed – it does go so well with coffee, chai, and really anything hot!
      I was really hoping to try the WOOT run but I think I will wait til their next one. I still need to lock on a babysitter for those early hours. Not sure the next door teen will be interested…she usually babysits for me…maybe I can offer her more pay! Hmm!
      I would love to try out Comprehensive Park! I’ll email you later!

      Reply

      • Groff's Girl
        Mar 09, 2011 @ 10:23:06

        Sounds good!!! I am hoping you can go, or see if we can try to figure out a day to go at a different time! I am done work on Mar 21st so I will be more open and available during the week and we can run together then, too! Great job on your workouts this week…you are a tough mama!!!!

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

