Life After Baby Weight

Women give themselves such a hard time about pregnancy weight gain and I have been thinking about this a lot lately. I really made myself miserable for most of my 9 months – agonizing over every pound I gained…squeezing into my regular clothes as long as I could b/c I couldn’t bare the thought o f maternity clothes. Then…somewhere in the last trimester I just got over it.

When I found out I was pregnant I was 128lbs and running about 25-30miles per week obsessively (pics seen here taken march of 2009 – found out I was prego in April).

Shane was in school after school in the process of going from enlisted to commissioned and I was just along for the ride. So in order to keep myself busy I became obsessed with fitness.

No joke. If I could scan my old workout routine notebook (yes, I kept a log) and show you – you would all see just how type-a I truly am. I met with a walking group 3x week (part of the Parks & Rec. for the county we lived in and everyone there was over 50yrs old – except for me!) at 6:30am – we covered anywhere from 3-5miles and I wore ankle weights. Then I would go home, eat, and go out for my run (this I did daily) – 3-5miles. Come home and do a 1hr workout video (this was daily). Then on Tue/Thr evenings I went to the Y for Pilates and on Mon/Wed evenings I went to the Y for Yoga.  Also, in the afternoons I would take my brother’s dog for a 3miles walk. I wasn’t working or in college – I was living in the spare room of my brother’s house while Shane was living in BOQ on base in NC, I was about a 4hr drive inland – so I was really just trying to keep myself busy until it came time to move again.

By the time we got to Okinawa I was 2months pregnant and it was late April (so the heat hadn’t set in yet). I was still running about 5 miles 3x week (outside) and doing prenatal Yoga 2x. But I wanted to do more and I pushed myself hard. I was coming home and trying to do my hour-long workout videos after my runs and feeling sick. I was running and feeling lots of pain in my pelvic area plus I was getting dehydrated constantly. I would get home and have a throbbing headache and be laid up on the couch all day. The heat in Okinawa is nothing to take lightly. So I went to my doctor and she laid it out – TAKE IT EASY! So I stopped running at month 4 of my pregnancy but started walking 5miles in the morning and then again in the evenings. (I have to learn most things the hard way) Finally I started getting so swollen up from the humidity I just had to STOP. Stop everything except the yoga. I was miserable in my body. I was gaining weight like crazy and there was nothing I could do to stop it.

By the time I was ready to deliver my beautiful baby girl my 5’4 athletic frame had grown from 128lbs and lean to 185lbs and swollen!

This photo was taken 5 days before I went into labor.

I also want to say that my doctors never told me that I was gaining too much – I always asked about it and I was reassured I was looking “healthy!” So if you are pregnant and reading this – don’t stress that chart that says gaining anything more than 25lbs is unhealthy.

I regret missing out on the fun parts of pregnancy because I was so miserable about gaining weight. I did learn that your body really can take a lot but you have to know your limits. I shouldn’t have been so hardheaded about running outside and have gotten on the treadmill. (Again, learning the hard way) I also learned that it’s okay to gain weight when you’re pregnant – that’s how it works! The best part – is seeing your body bounce back – and it does w/ breast-feeding and effort! Finally, this year I have really started to feel like I used to – my energy levels are high, my muscles are coming back and I am feeling like I used to but better. Because now I know that I am setting a good example for my baby girl about health and fitness. Also, I think that there is just some sort of confidence that comes with age.

So the pictures I am posting on here – have never been seen by anyone but ME! I can’t believe I am posting my before and after pictures. The “leaving the hospital” pictures are extremely painful for me. 

But you have to know – this is what my body looked like two days after having a baby. If anyone who is reading this blog is in the process of loosing their “baby weight” and is feeling lost, I hope this reassures you  – you’ll get it back and then some!

But just like most everything else in life – You don’t know what you don’t know!

I know one thing for certain – I will enjoy pregnancy number two much more – no more agony over weight gained. I will focus on being active and eating well and the rest will happen naturally.

Three months after having my baby girl I was back to pre-baby weight but not back into my pre-baby clothes because my body hadn’t toned back up yet. That took some time. Here is a picture of me at 4 months after having Nola. This is not exactly accurate considering my husband had been in the Philippines for some time and this photo was taken for me to send to him – so I was really sucking everything in – I passed out shortly after! lol! BUT I was back into my pre-baby clothes and feeling great about it. The time it took me is not the important part – and I hesitated to even show an after picture or say how long it took. Everyone’s bodies are different. Heck, my cousin didn’t gain over 17lbs when she was prego and she looked skinnier after having her baby then she ever did before she was pregnant! How does that happen! the point is – take it easy on yourselves – everything will happen just the way it is meant to at the moment it is suppose to! 

I also want to note that after my husband got home and I was cooking for two again I gained weight (about 15lbs). I wasn’t committed to a running plan or any fitness. W/ college and a 4month old baby I was just living day-to-day. Now, Nola is 15 months, I am still in college (taking one class at a time instead of 4) and I am more committed then ever. I am still not back to the 128lbs but I can tell that my body is toning up and my “skinny” pants are back to being comfortable again – well, until I launder them and then I have to do a few sumo squats to loosen them up! lol!

It took me over a year to really get committed again – My head is now back in the game!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerry
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 19:32:03

    Thanks for the post! This is such a good reminder as I start gaining weight with this pregnancy–keep inviting me to those 5Ks; I actually do want to eventually jog them and not just walk! You are definitely a good example and being around you always makes me want to be more active–thanks!

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:14:57

      I am soo glad that I am motivating/inspiring you! I have a few books I would love to give you. I am super excited to hear that you plan on coming to more 5K’s too! That was really great to have you there with me!

      Reply

  2. sdsol
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:06:44

    Gosh, I can sooo relate to this post! I am still in the process of losing my baby weight. I honestly thought it would come off so much quicker, considering I trained and ran both a marathon & half marathon before baby was 6 months! My body is just so different after! I look at my before pics and just…sigh! I have about 13 more pounds to get to where I was…and I better because I brought all my “skinny” clothes here to Japan. I only have a few outfits/clothes to choose from knowing that I have to lose the weight! Oh well…I know I will get there! 🙂 Great post and you look fantastic! 🙂

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:13:25

      It all happens just the way it’s suppose to. Don’t worry. I am so excited that you want to be a running buddy! I was thinking that once I get the OK from my trainer to start running again we could just do my LSR (long slow run) days together – which would be from my house to the beach and back. We can just work up from there!

      Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:47:32

      I remember when I was pregnant looking at those pictures I posted above of my posing after a workout and thinking – after I have this baby I am never going to be hard on myself about the way I look again. I was looking just fine before and yet I was still pushing myself to do more, lose more, etc. and then after I had Nola I went right back to worrying about my body again. Will we ever learn?

      Reply

  3. AIMEE
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:30:33

    HAHAHA!!! Thats my old house!!!

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:45:16

      I was wondering if you would see these and recognize that! Remember how I would unpack my iMac and set it up on your desk and then pack it back up in the box again when I was done?! Well, this is what I was doing when you weren’t home – taking pictures of myself! 🙂 little did I know I would be using them for anything later.

      Reply

  4. Run with Jess
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 23:00:15

    Pregnancy weight is so tough on women. I’m still fighting the effects of 2 babies on my body. Man, you are so brave to throw out the pictures — I think I burned all mine! LOL

    Reply

  5. Hubbs/Daddy
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 04:33:45

    Great post wifey! Go big or go home! I never thought I would see before and after pictures of you anywhere, much less on a public blog. Good for you.
    I hope your legs get healed up soon and you can get back to it. I know it’s hard sitting out with an injury, but it does happen. Just be smart and let them heal correctly so you don’t prolong the recovery.

    Love you two

    Reply

  6. AIMEE
    Feb 18, 2011 @ 21:45:25

    Alright you two…..mushy gushy husband and wifey. Too Funny and it only gets worse when he gets back atleast for the first month anyway. Good thing Nola is so young she won’t whine and say GROSS when you guys can’t keep your hands off eachother. So what’s it gonna be Sarah Space A in Oct. or what? R u game Shane? Let’s shoot for a PR of under 4 LET’S DO THIS!!!

    Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

