Not Your Momma’s Chocolate-Chip Cookies!

Well this starts WEEK 3 – my HUMP week! Yippy! You know – like how Wednesdays are the 3rd day of the work week (Hump Day) and this is my 3rd week of training – hopefully this is my Hump Week – and after this week my body will move beyond the pain of the previous two weeks and into a smooth groove of training… hopefully!

So today was another rest day for me – thank goodness! I am still very sore and by very sore I mean taking the steps from upstairs to downstairs backwards because going frontwards hurts too much! (I’m not joking, my little girl just giggled the whole way down while I grunted and leaned against the wall!)

So I laid low at the house today (the baby was in a very bad mood and not feeling well) and made my shopping list for the Commissary. I think I have finally come up with a menu that I can eat on a regular basis and not get too tired of. I made sure to use recipes from my Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook b/c they tell you the nutritional breakdown of each recipe. I’m trying to get more protein in my diet so this was a must. I still plan to use the RW website and book recommendations but I needed to get something going NOW for my nutritional needs. So here is what I am thinking about trying as a regular diet and see how I feel (b/c right now I feel bloated and sluggish from all the carbs). Everthing in red is from the BH&G cookbook.

Breakfast:

Vegetable Frittata w/ Feta (this is if I can find the egg beaters that is only egg whites – ever since having Nola eggs really hurt my stomach – weird huh?!)

Banana-Mango Smoothie (I think this will probably be when I’m in the mood or for a recovery drink w/ protein sprinkled in)

Five-Cup Fruit Salad (this recipe seems strange, calls for sour cream and all canned fruits but I’m gonna give it a go anyhow)

Snack: Yogurts, Pretzels, Chai Tea Latte (I’m obsessed!)

Lunch: Chicken Burritos, Tuna on Crackers or bread

Snack: Fresh Fruits (pickings are slim on base – might have to venture out in town to the local Farmers Market for better selections)

Dinner:

Crispy Oven-Fried Fish (I liked this recipe b/c it didn’t specify one type of fish this would be good for and it also mentioned using frozen fish which is easier for me to get a hold of quickly)

Salmon (Baked)

Steamed Veggies (just bought this super badass Martha Stewart steamed rack – love it!)

Salad (can’t get enough!)

 

Latest RW Tested Recipe…

Liz’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I am not normally a “chocolate on chocolate” lover for my sweet tooth cravings but I’ve got to say that these cookies really hit the spot! This is a great combo of flavors and textures. My all time favorite cookie has to be a good old-fashioned oatmeal cookie! So when I saw that this recipe combined chocolate, nuts, and oatmeal I knew I had to give it a try. After baking them I saw that most of my neighborhood was hanging out in the front yard by mine (we live in a cul-de-sac). Everyone had hot beverages and I thought this was perfect timing to test my newest RW recipe out on them. So I offered them all some fresh out of the oven cookies to go with their hot tea, coffee and chai! Everyone raved about how yummy good these were. Tonight, I had Liz and Don over for some Turkey Chili (another RW recipe) and treated them to these yummy cookies after dinner and the reviews were the same – YUM even several days later!

I probably won’t write a review for the Turkey Chili considering I used half of the RW recipe recommendations and half of my own recipe and came up w/ a new hybrid version of my old chili that was very tasty!

Liz’s Chocolate Chunk Cookies, A recipe that cuts 50 calories from each cookie By Liz Applegate Ph.D.

Published 01/07/2007

3/4 stick butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup white sugar

4 tablespoons dark honey

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 cup whole-wheat flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

a shake of salt

1/4 cup cocoa powder

2 cups quick-cooking oats

3/4 cup chopped dark chocolate

1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

Preheat oven to 375?F. In a mixing bowl, cream butter, sugars, and honey. Add eggs and vanilla and blend well. Combine flours, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder, then add to the wet mixture. Stir in oats, chocolate, and nuts. Spoon batter in one-tablespoon mounds onto a cookie sheet coated with cooking spray. Bake for 12 minutes or until golden brown. Makes two dozen.

Calories: 150 
Fat: 6 g 
Carbs: 22 g 
Protein: 3 g

Even Nola was happy with these! This is her face after getting a cookie…


Tell ME Whatchya Think!

