My love affair w/ Books…

Here is a picture to give you an idea of just how much I am reading! All in the hopes of making this blog amazing and my experience as well rounded as possible!

I have been learning some really awesome and helpful information about nutrition. Here is what I have learned so far from “RW Guide to Road Races

Chapter 4 – FUEL

• To estimate your daily calorie needs for maintaining your weight, take your present weight and multiply by 13. (Ex: Mine is 133 x 13 = 1729) That number covers your metabolic needs for the day, factoring in light activity. (light activity is not running for miles – LINDA!)

• Whether you are trying to lose weight or maintain, approximately 50% of your daily calories should come from carbohydrates, 25% from protein, and 25% from fat. I was really excited to read this b/c I LOVE carbs and I LOVE meat!

• Carbs are the body’s fuel for speed and power!

Glycemic Index – is a measure of the effects of carbohydrates on blood sugar levels. Thank you Wikipedia! High GI food = fast & energy, Low GI food = slow to digest. Everyone with me? These are often given a number rating system and 77 and above = high GI, 55 or below = low GI.

o Before a RUN – Eat low GI foods such as low-fat yogurt, fruit, or old-fashioned oatmeal. Approximately 2hrs before your workout. You can read more on this on page 183 “Adapt Your Snack”

o If you need fuel right before a run go with energy bars, sports drinks, etc so the carbs enter your system fast.

• While running (more than an hour) use drinks, gels or bars for energy.

After a RUN – (30-60min) High GI foods are essential for restocking glycogen stores. Ex: potatoes, cereals, waffles, or fruit smoothies w/ protein.

• All other times of the day go for low GI foods for maintaining health and weight – see page 181 for examples.

• You should aim to consume at least 41oz of water per day.

Pg 183 = Pre-run Snacks

Pg 186 = Eating for Performance

Pg 191 = Snack Ideas

Presidential Champions Challenge

I’m not sure how many of you out there are familiar with the President’s Challenge to be healthier, fitter and happier Americans but it really is a great incentive program. If you are already an active individual (like myself – my awards so far in the pic above) then all you have to do is log in once a week and input your weekly activities for points towards presidential awards. Once you complete certain award levels you can order as much “flare” as you want! So for instance, I have completed the (PALA) Presidential Active Lifestyle Award – which was 6 weeks of being active at least 30 minutes per day out of 5 days of each of those 6 weeks. Now I can order a certificate, t-shirt, medal, and numerous other things that show I have won this award.

I want to just take a moment to let you all know that these awards are no joke! My husband and many other Marines are participating in this and can use these awards towards promotions in the Marine Corps. These not only show initiative but shows dedication and follow through. I plan to complete each challenge listed on this website and put into my professional portfolio along w/ other awards like my Dean’s List letters from the University of Maryland that I have received.

I figured if I was already going to working my butt off towards the goal of a marathon by the end of the year I might as well get some awards from the President while I’m at it!

So no new recipes to report – my lovely neighbor Liz has been feeding me yummy goodness from her house (next door) and I have been munching on my yummy leftovers from this weeks previous recipes! Let me say – the BBQ Turkey Beans were even BETTER after marinating in the fridge…MMM!

If anyone is ever wondering what I am doing when I’m not chasing Nola, training, cooking or sleeping – I’m READING tons of information from RW trying to learn as much as I can so I can pass all of this awesome knowledge off to who ever chooses to read this blog! (I hope there are people out there reading – no comments are being made)

Training Updates – I ran outside today even though the weather was still pretty YUK! I just needed to be outdoors! I ran to Araha Beach and back. (Pic below)

I did my brisk walking warm-up and then jogged to my turn around spot – took a walking break to feed the little one a mum-mum and do some maintenance for myself – then back into stride. This time though heading back I realized two things. (1) That my legs were really aching and I wasn’t maintaining a very good speed and (2) the stroller kept pulling to the left, which was wearing my right shoulder out. Soooo – I then realized after looking down for some time while I was running that one of the stroller tires was flat… REALLY?! Am I really still a rookie stroller mom?! Not to check the tires air pressure! Geesh! Lol! So then I start to focus back on “why are my legs feeling like this” and then it dawns on me – I am NOW running INTO the wonderful Okinawa wind we all love! So no wonder I was making such good time all the way down to the beach – I had some assistance! All in all I had a GREAT run though. It was nice and chilly which kept me feeling fresh. I wanna throw in a quick note – I love, love, love my stroller so much now that I chopped off all that unnecessary frew-frew mommy stuff that I never needed.

I meet with my trainer, Jeanne, for the first time tomorrow! She sent me an email and said “be ready to run outside!” I am so excited and nervous at the same time – I have a feeling she is really gonna break me off. I will take pictures as I have time too or see if I can get Jeanne to photo me crying or puking – b/c both are likely to happen! Wish me luck!

Miles ran today = 3.5

Miles ran to date = 22.39

Remember the few posts ago that I mentioned Rodale (parent company to RW) sending me a wonderful free “Thank You” gift Training Log? Well here is it – just wanted to show everyone just how awesome it really is! AND at the bottom of every page there are motivational quotes from runners.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Johnson Durocher
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 23:17:43

    Hey Sarah!
    Just found your blog — through RLAM — and I love it. I look forward to reading your posts and following along on your running journey. I also started a running blog in the past year — michiganrunnergirl.com. I’m currently training for my first marathon, so am posting quite a bit about that. Stop by and say hello sometime!
    – Heather

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 06:21:07

      Hi Heather! I am so excited someone from RLAM checked my blog out! Thanks! I will definitely follow your journey as well – what months is your marathon? I’m shooting for the Marine Corp Marathon in October… we can so do this!

      Reply

  2. AIMEE
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 06:43:23

    Hey Sarah just reading your blog and wanted to emphasize with your intensity and frequency increasing you are going to NEED a recovery drink on hand for after ALL your workouts it makes a huge difference that you have it WITHIN 15 MINUTES …after your workouts(I know you wrote about this but have found a drink is easier than trying to cram food in). A 4:1 carb to protein ratio is what runners need gatorade, powerbar,accelerade all have products for this but you can premix it and have it ready post workout with lots of water. Of course if you don’t have this available a nice glass of chocolate milk works good as well. Crucial step to daily recovery especially when you going 5 days straight. Good luck with your Trainer.

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 09:13:55

      HEY! I totally agree that I always need to refuel as quickly as possible after a run. I was surprised that the RW book recommends it to be somewhere w/in 30-60 min after a run and not at all if you don’t run over 45min. I refuel after just having a 3 mile run.

      Reply

  3. angie
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 11:57:27

    I love reading your blog … you have a wealth of info!
    I was just in the library the other day and read Runner’s World article on The Biggest Loser Marathon. It’s inspiring to see how far thousands of people have come to take better care of themselves.
    Your running speed has increased remarkably! I’m still cheering you on from afar! Keep up the great work! 🙂

    Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

