Moroccan Stew

Today was my R&R day so I decided to do some cooking!

The book that I am currently reading is, “RW Guide to Road Racing”, and in this book is a plethora of information – it is proving to be a one-stop shop for my challenge. On page 217 is a recipe for Moroccan Stew.

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups chopped onion
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 cup sliced carrots
  • 4 cups sliced sweet potatoes
  • 3 cups cubed eggplant
  • 4 cups cubed zucchini
  • 2 or 3 large tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups garbanzo beans
  • pinch of saffron
  • 3/4 cup currants or 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup fresh, chopped parsley

Directions: In a large pot, boil onions in a small amount of water. Add garlic and spices, stirring continuously. (Keep an inch of water at bottom of pot, being careful not to scorch.)
Add carrots, sweet potatoes, eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, beans, saffron and currants. Stir from bottom of pot to mix all ingredients.

Cover and simmer on low until vegetables are tender (approximately 20 to 25 minutes). Add parsley just before serving. May be served over couscous. Serves 6.

Per serving: 236 calories; 52.6 g carb; 7.0 g protein; 1.7 g fat (6% of total calories); 217 mg sodium; 7.8 g dietary fiber.

(I copied and pasted the recipe directly from RW website)

I decided (since I was crunched for time today) to cook mine in a crock pot on low for about 4 hours. I love how the aroma of something cooking in the crock pot slowly takes over the whole house. With the combo of spices in this dish my house smelled so yummy all day!

The veggies got slightly softer than I would have liked but over all it was good for a stew. There isn’t much broth created in this even though the veggies cook way down so adding some veggie stalk would be great – I think that’s what I’ll do as I reheat this for leftovers. I ate mine poured over couscous and really liked that pairing. Also, this is pretty spicy. I had intended to share this w/ my one year old but I ended up having to make her something all her own b/c of the spice level. (I left out Saffron and raisins)

Bonus – this stuck with me for a very long time. I ate a late lunch at about 2:30pm and wasn’t really hungry until my neighbors Pampered Chef party (thanks Joe!) at about 7:30pm.

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

