Here’s to Hiring a Trainer!

On New Year’s Sunday the pastor at Calvary Chapel gave a great sermon about “Running your best race” – I know I have mentioned this before but this theme really resonates with me.

Why do you run? What’s your race?

A few school sessions ago I wrote a 25 page research paper on the benefits of exercise on education. It has been found that cardiovascular exercise (aerobic not anaerobic) immensely benefits our cognitive abilities. This was even shown to be true of older people who were already suffering from early onset symptoms of Alzheimer’s. Any time I am contemplating shrugging off a run I try and focus on the fact that running makes you smarter! I will spare you all of the details but if anyone is interested I can post my paper – great stuff – and just one more reason why our children need lots of physical activity ALONG w/ a good solid educational foundation… but I will digress!

So, what is my race?! Well, to be completely honest, it’s to complete what I start this year. This is a real and tangible goal – RUNNING! It may sound as if you are projecting yourself “away” from something but in fact you are indeed propelling yourself “towards” something. I like running because it motivates me to be a better person. It makes me see the world around me in a totally different light. I love who I am when I run, I feel so alive.

I used to never be able to mentally visualize myself running any further than the 5K distance. That was before my friend Aimee completed the USMC Marathon in 2010. Ever since it has been like a door was opened and a mental block just dissolved. I now can see that I too can run in and complete a marathon.

Training Updates:

So today I met with my new trainer! Jeanne Goode will be accompanying my on my year long journey. We met this morning and I felt immediately at ease and as if I was finally in good hands and not so ALONE on this voyage… a little dramatic, I know – but really – until hiring a trainer I sort of felt like I was just reading some print in a book and kicking my ass everyday – with little gains. BUT now I feel like I am truly moving in the right direction with more than just good intentions.

We discussed lots of great stuff and Jeanne suggested that since I am really sort of in between the beginner phase and the intermediate phase that I need to ease up a bit and slowly work my way into the intermediate 5K training plan. So starting next week I will be on a Monday – Friday routine w. the weekends being my R&R time. I am very amped and excited to be working with someone so dedicated and knowledgable… I see great things in my future!

Training Progress:

Did HILL REPEATS today! urgh!

I ran at a steady 5.0 pace w/ interval inclines to 6% on the treadmill. I did 3 interval for 3 minutes each w/ a 2min 5.0 pace jog in between.

It felt great and I am not sure why I am saying this but I can’t wait to do some more hills! Bring-it-on Plaza Hills!

Miles ran today = 2.58

Miles ran-to-date = 16.31

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerry Sherer
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 14:37:04

    Love the cartoon, haha–but you definitely won’t need any photoshop with all the work you are putting in. Thanks for the reminder about the mental and total body affects of exercise. I’m ready to go find the jogging stroller for this afternoon as soon as Russell wakes up. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Living Runner's World
      Jan 14, 2011 @ 15:07:49

      I’m so excited you’re getting out there! I know that running really isn’t your thing and swimming is. Anytime you want to hit the water and need someone to watch Russell just let me know – Us active momma’s gotta stick together!

      Reply

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

