The “Fast 15”

When the little one is “sleeping in” I tend to just pace around the hallway outside her door waiting for her to get up…why? Because it always seems like the days she hits her “snooze” is always on the days I have somewhere to be! Mainly, the gym… so I get a late start but it gives me the perfect opportunity to try out John Galloway’s treadmill training “Fast 15”, “the workout to do when you’re pressed for time.”

Here’s how it works: Jog for 3 minutes. Then increase the speed to a faster pace and hold it for two minutes. Walk for 30 seconds. Repeat the sequence. Next, extend the run portion out for 3 minutes. Walk for 30 seconds. Repeat. Cool down w/ a short walk. (pg 38, Jan. 2011 issue) http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-238-263–13782-0,00.html

 

I really liked this workout and will probably keep it in mind the next time I need to have an abbreviated run. By the end of the jog segment my legs wanted speed but by the end of the run segment my brain wanted that 30 second walk. I jogged at a 6.0 on the treadmill and ran at a 7.0 pace. Overall I clocked 2.36 miles, had time for a good stretch afterwards and just enough time to get up to the COOP to scoop the little one up.

Today’s miles ran = 2.36

Miles run year-to-date = 5.33

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

