January RW Inspirations, etc.

I finally had to just go out an buy the January 2011 Runner’s World Magazine since my subscription issue must be lost out there somewhere – welcome to the would of FPO addresses! (FPO = Foreign Post Office) This is like the black whole of the postal system. I have ordered books for college on Amazon, they get sent Media Mail (which the post office claims is the same as priority) and I will be done w/ the course by the time my book arrives. Very disappointing.

January Issue Inspiration:

  • Editor David Wiley recommends reading “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand. “The book was written over a seven year period about a man named Louie Zamperini, a seabiscuit-era superstar on the verge of breaking the four-minute mile when WWII intervened. Assigned to an Army Air Force crew in the Pacific, Louie survived not just a bomber crash but 47 days adrift at sea, multiple shark attacks (he fought them off w/ his fists), and two years in Japanese slave labor camps. In Laura’s hands, Louie’s wild story (including a 1936 Olympic encounter w/ Hitler) has become a WWII Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption.” (RW pg. 16, Jan. 2011)

  • Online Polling – Do you eat before an early morning run? 33% said Always, 27% said never – Personally…I have to eat or I feel sick to my stomach mid way through my workout.
  • Inspiration for sureJoan Benoit Samuelson at 53 is still setting records for women athletes. Competing in the 50-to-54 age group she broke her previous record time for the Chicago Marathon w/ completing the race in 2:47:50 – SIMPLY AMAZING! I think that the most energizing part of learning more about people who run is that it is never too late to start, never too late to get better, fast and more focused on this sport. Lots of time I think, “Wow, I’m 28 and still working on my Bachelors, I’m so old and have lost so much time to indecision.” But not with running I haven’t. There is always time and it is never too late to run your best race.
  • QUOTE – by Michael Collins – “I was experiencing the world through running.” This is so true, how we can drive up and down a certain road or out and about in a certain town for years and never take notice of the things, colors, sounds, people, buildings and life that we experience when on foot over the same exact terrain.
  • Pg 31 – Recipe recommendation for improved eyesight – gonna have to give that one a try. Spinach, Bacon, and Sweet-Potato Salad http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-242-303–13286-0,00.html 
  • Pg 38 – Treadmill Training from Jeff Galloway – that’ll be implemented into my TM training days – I’ll report back on how it goes.
  • QUOTE – By Ed Eyestone, “When it comes to racing, you can’t control the competition, only yourself.” – This really rings true for me – we all are running our own races. It does us absolutely no good to focus on someone else’s time or training plan – we aren’t them, we can only train for what our body is capable of doing…and our schedules. This guys also said that we need to widen our gaze, not hyper-focus on ONE goal but multiple goals – “making our bull’s-eye a larger and more attainable target.”

And that’s all I’ve got so far – still more reading to do! Treadmill training tomorrow – wish me luck!

Tell ME Whatchya Think!

